GIVEAWAY: Sabrent Rocket Q 8TB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD worth $2000!

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review

Razer's Blade Stealth 13 laptop based on Intel's Whiskey Lake platform is fully tested here. Should you buy it? Let's see.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Mon, Dec 2 2019 8:15 PM CST   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Razer (RZ09-02812E71-R3U1)

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 50 IMAGES

Today we are reviewing a Whiskey Lake notebook from Razer. Razer notebooks have a reputation in the market of being of sound design and excellent construction. The Blade Stealth 13 we have here is no exception.

The metal chassis, weight, size, and overall feeling of quality are top-notch and perfect for those looking for a notebook that could fit in something as small are a purse or on something as small as a student's classroom desk. The notebook is super thin, but there is a discrete GPU. Let's see how it does against the other notebooks we have reviewed.

Specifications

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 02 | TweakTown.com

Our model uses the 13.3" full HD matte display and is configured as the middle model in the chart above. It features an i7-8565U processor, although you can get it configured with up to a 10th generation i7.

The notebook also features a 256GB SSD, 16GB LPDDR3, and an MX150 GPU, and you can configure it with up to a GTX 1650. The battery life is estimated to be up to 11 hours. The Blade Stealth measures in at 0.58"x11.99"x8.27" (HxWxD) and weighs 2.89lbs.

Pricing

The Blade Stealth in this configuration has an MSRP of $1,599, but can be had for as little as $1,205 from Amazon.

Buy at Amazon

Razer Blade Stealth 13 Ultrabook Laptop

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1499.99$1499.99$1579.00
* Prices last scanned on 10/30/2020 at 8:52 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Physical Overview

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 03 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Razer's box is simple and discrete, and packaging is a bit nicer than some other notebooks.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 05 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 06 | TweakTown.com

Accessories include AC/DC power adapter, microfiber cloth, and manuals. The AC/DC adapter is rated at 5v/9v/15v at 3A and 20v at 3.25A, so up to 65W. The adapter uses type-C as its connector, so you can also use it to fast charge your type-C phone.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 07 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The top and bottom are made of aluminum, and they have a cool to the touch feel; they are of a CNC milled unibody design and have an anodized black finish. The edges are rounded, but the notebook has a rectangular feel to it. The two fan intake vents and the large rear exhaust vent can be seen on the bottom of the notebook. Instead of four rubber feet, we find two large rubber feet that starch the length of the notebook.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The front of the unit has a small edge that allows you to grip the display and open the notebook. The rear of the notebook features a single large hinge. The right side of the notebook features a Thunderbolt 3 Type-C port (uses four lanes of PCI-E 3.0) as well as a type-A USB 3.0 port. The left side features a USB 3.1 (10Gb/s) Type-C port, another type-A USB 3.0 port, and a 3.5mm headphone/microphone jack. Both of the type-C ports are power ports so that you can charge from either side.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The QWERTY keyboard features a bit larger keys than we are used too, but it is a good thing as it makes typing on such a small notebook easier. We like the keystroke distance, and we might say we like these keys better than mechanical keyboards we find on gaming notebooks. The keyboard has Razer Chroma with single-zone backlighting and anti-ghosting technology. You might want to take note that the power button is actually the key in the upper right corner.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The glass touchpad feels like metal to the touch, and while there are no separate right/left click buttons, we had no problem with the touchpad registering strokes correctly.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 12 | TweakTown.com

The notebook has an amazing display. It is a 13.3" full HD (1080P) matte display, which is 100% RGB and is individually calibrated at the factory. There is also a 4K touch version. It has 4.9mm slim right and left side bezels, but the top and bottom bezels aren't that slim, but that leaves room at the top for a camera.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 13 | TweakTown.com

There is a 720P HD webcam with infrared so it can be used with Windows Hello. There is also an array microphone. We really appreciate Razer keeping the webcam up at the top of the display, and we don't mind sacrificing a thin bezel for that. The notebook also has four speakers, and their vents are on either side of the keyboard.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The notebook opens up about 135 degrees.

Physical Overview Continued

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Razer's top-notch cooling solution was the way they were able to get the low z-height of the notebook down. Shared copper heat pipes and two high-quality blower fans with extra fins provide adequate cooling. The metal cover also has a thermal pad to cool the M.2 SSD.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 16 | TweakTown.com

The battery is rated 53.1Wh at 11.55v.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Here we see the DRAM for both the CPU and GPU. The chips are physically soldered to the motherboard, and while this is very common for GPUs, it is only common for CPUs when z-height is of importance. You will not be able to upgrade memory, but with 16GB already there, you probably won't need to. All the memory looks to be Samsung for both the GPU and CPU.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 18 | TweakTown.com

The M.2 SSD is a 3D TLC x4 PCI-E 3.0 NVMe drive from Lite-On, and while it is only 256GB, you will be able to upgrade it to the latest NVMe models. The wireless-AC controller is the Intel 9560NGW, which features the latest in Wireless AC up to 1.73Gbps and BT 5.0.

Software and BIOS

Software

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 19 | TweakTown.com

Here we have Razer Synapse, which is where we find all Razer devices, modules, and online services. If you had a Razer mouse, it would also come up and be controlled by Synapse.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 20 | TweakTown.com

We can also find out system settings such as function key functionality, gaming modes, and track-pad settings.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 21 | TweakTown.com

In Chroma, we find our lighting settings for the keyboard. You can pick mode and colors, but there is only one mode to control lighting for all the keys at once.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 22 | TweakTown.com

You can also set up keyboard macros.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 23 | TweakTown.com

You can also download and add modules that are supported by your hardware and Razer devices.

BIOS

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 30 | TweakTown.com

There are not many settings present, but you can change basic ones like enabling or disabling Turbo Mode and EIST. There is also an Intel TPM20 device for extra security, and you can disable it if you want.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 24 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 25 | TweakTown.com
Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 26 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 27 | TweakTown.com
Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 28 | TweakTown.comRazer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 29 | TweakTown.com

System Performance Benchmarks

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

These benchmarks are run using default settings and configuration.

CINEBENCH 11.5

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 32 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 33 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 AES and HASH

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 34 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 35 | TweakTown.com

PCMark8 Home

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Handbrake 4K and 720P Transcoding

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 37 | TweakTown.com

WebXPRT 2015

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 38 | TweakTown.com

The Whiskey Lake-based i7-8565U is performing as we might expect for a 15W mobile processor with a 4.6GHz Turbo. The notebook is holding its own against the Lenovo Flex, and these results are pretty good.

The WebXPRT score is impressive, as it is a very important benchmark for a small notebook like this since most people will mainly use this notebook for web browsing applications and things like word processors.

It trades blows with the closest competitor (14"), the Lenovo Flex, and it typically wins.

Gaming Performance Benchmarks

UNIGINE Heaven 4.0

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 40 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 41 | TweakTown.com

3DMark FireStrike

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 42 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Cloudgate

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 43 | TweakTown.com

Ashes of Singularity

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 44 | TweakTown.com

GTA:V

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 45 | TweakTown.com

The Razer Blade Stealth offered excellent performance when compared against the Lenovo Flex, but left much to be desired compared against actually gaming benchmarks.

However, we should mention it's not really a gaming notebook in regards to AAA titles, but more for games like League of Legends or Kerbal Space Program.

System IO and Battery Performance

System IO Benchmarks

Internal Storage Read Test:

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 46 | TweakTown.com

Internal Storage Write Test:

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 47 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Razer gave the new notebook an NVMe drive, but it's not exactly the fastest.

Wi-Fi speeds were excellent.

Battery Tests

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 49 | TweakTown.com

The battery performance is similar in performance to the larger Lenovo Flex, which is impressive since this notebook is smaller.

Thermal Performance

Thermal Imaging

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 50 | TweakTown.com

Here we see some interesting behavior, the temperature barely changes from idle to load, it spreads, but it doesn't really go up. The temperature looks like it decreases, but it's possible that since the heat was centered around the chipset and concentrated at idle, the thermal algorithm found a lower temperature in the margin of error when at load when the heat was spread wider.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 51 | TweakTown.com

Here we see the heat spread when at load, but the temperature not increase.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

Here are key points about the Razer Blade Stealth.

Razer Blade Stealth 13 (Whiskey Lake) Laptop Review 52 | TweakTown.com

What's Hot

Extremely high-quality construction: While Apple's products are traditionally known for their excellent construction, the Blade Stealth 13 has the same high-quality construction quality. The feel of the notebook is very nice, and you can immediately feel that this is no cheap notebook made up of plastic and lesser materials.

Beautiful display: The matte 13.3" display is really breathe taking. Colors are extremely vibrant, and the display isn't dim. One of the benefits of the glossy displays out there is the perceived sharpness and color saturation, but in this case, we see pretty much the same high levels of quality in the colors. Perhaps the custom individual factory color calibration has something to do with this.

Versatile: The notebook is small enough to fit in many smaller cases, but it's also extremely thin and doesn't have any of the downsides with regards to the performance we see when most vendors want to reduce thickness. The notebook also has a discrete GPU, so if your programs use GPU acceleration, this will do better than other notebooks without discrete graphics.

What's Not

Price: The price of the Blade Stealth is quite high. Even when it launched, it was $1,500, and now it's closer to $1,200, but it's still pricey compared to other notebooks with these specs.

Final Thoughts

The Blade Stealth 13 is a stunning little 13" notebook, with great performance mainly because of the cooling solution. The construction and size and weight of the unit are also excellent. The notebook is well balanced and gets the job done.

Battery life is okay, slightly better than some other notebooks in the charts considering its smaller size. The software is pretty well done, but we would have liked more BIOS options. One thing that was a bit odd and took some getting used to was the position of the power button. When we went to hit delete, we instead would hit the power button instead, but we think Razer knew this would happen and doubled required pressure and increased delay to 300ms specifically for the power key/button to prevent accidents. It's that level of detail Razer puts into its notebooks that make them worth their price.

Overall, this is an excellent notebook with decent specifications and is pretty much best in class. However, it's not cheap.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

93%

Quality

97%

Features

96%

Value

85%

Overall

93%

The Bottom Line

With its excellent size to performance ratio, beautiful display, and exceptional build quality, the Razer Blade Stealth 13 Ultrabook is an excellent buy.

TweakTown award
93%

Razer Blade Stealth 13 Ultrabook Laptop

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1499.99$1499.99$1579.00
* Prices last scanned on 10/30/2020 at 8:52 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles