GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review

TeamGroup's T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 PCIe NVMe Gen4 x4 M.2 SSD is a force to be reckoned with.

@JonCoulterSSD
Published Sat, Nov 16 2019 7:00 PM CST   |   Updated Thu, Oct 15 2020 1:05 PM CDT
Rating: 96%Manufacturer: TeamGroup (TM8FP7001T0C311)

Introduction & Drive Details

To date, we've tested several different brands of Phison E16-powered SSDs, and all have been impressive. Phison E16 Gen4 x4 powered SSDs have proven to be that fastest flash-based storage you can currently equip your AMD Zen II platform with. Today, we have TeamGroup's version of Phison's E16-powered powerhouse in the lab for evaluation.

TeamGroup's T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 Gen4 x4 M.2 SSD is configured a bit differently than what we've seen to this point. The main difference is that instead of a large integrated heat sink that is common to E16 powered SSDs, TeamGroup is using an ultra-thin graphene and copper thermal label. This layered copper and graphene thermal label are surprisingly effective, providing up to 9c cooler temps, according to TeamGroup marketing.

We kind of like this approach for a couple of reasons. The first being that most X570 based motherboards have integrated heat sinks that will not accommodate an integrated heat sink on the SSD itself. This isn't much of an issue if the heat sink is removable. However, some are not so the motherboard's M.2 SSD IHS must be abandoned, which can detract from the overall aesthetics of your Zen II build.

We like that the ultra-thin thermal label is quite effective at keeping the Phison E16 controller temps in check, but as we already know from previous testing, a heat sink is not a requirement for throttle-free performance in most cases. We also like the fact that if you do not have an integrated SSD heat sink on your motherboard and the drive is visible, the black and copper themed Cardea Zero Z440 will compliment your build.

TeamGroup's T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 M.2 x2280 NVMe SSD is available in two capacities, 1TB and 2TB. Let's dive in and see what kind of performance TeamGroup's Gen4 offering is serving up.

Drive Details

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 35 IMAGES
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 02 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 03 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 04 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 05 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 06 | TweakTown.com

The Cardea Zero ships in an attractive and minimalistic blister pack. The drive's exclusive copper and graphene thermal label is advertised along with sequential performance and 5-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 NVMe PCIe Gen4x 4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$191.99$179.99$191.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 3:03 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Synthetic Benchmarks: CDM & Anvils

CrystalDiskMark

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 07 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 08 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 09 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 10 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 11 | TweakTown.com

As expected, the world's most popular SSD benchmark, CrystalDiskMark, was used to establish factory sequential performance specifications of 5,000 MB/s read, 4,400 MB/s write. Factory specs were taken as an empty secondary device. We do not test empty secondary devices, which is why our sequential write performance comes in a bit lower than 4,400 MB/s.

We want to take note of the Cardea Zero's 4K Q1T1 random write speed of 308 MB/s as it is a new lab record for an AMD-based platform.

Anvil's Storage Utilities

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 12 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 13 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 14 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Total read score is our focus when evaluating Anvil's performance. The Cardea Zero lights up our chart beating all flash-based contenders showing us another reason why Phison E16 powered SSDs are the fastest flash-based storage currently available for your AMD Zen II Platform.

We also want to acknowledge the total score of over 21.6K, as it is a new lab record for a flash-based SSD running on an AMD platform.

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 16 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 17 | TweakTown.com

In the overall scheme of things, Max IOPS is relatively meaningless to the average enthusiast. We are just showing what the drive can achieve when running in our custom test state.

Synthetic Benchmarks: AS SSD & ATTO

AS SSD

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 18 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 19 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 20 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 21 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Read score is our focus, and we again find the Cardea Zero easily beating all the contenders in our lineup. The Cardea Zero owns the Gen3 competitors from top to bottom.

ATTO

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 23 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 24 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 25 | TweakTown.com

Our focus is 128KB transfers, and as we would expect to see from a Gen4 SSD, the Cardea Zero is taking no prisoners. The drive is running nearly full speed at 128 KB transfers, which is what we are looking for. Max sequential read performance comes at 512 KB transfers, where the Cardea Zero is delivering 5.64 GB/s bandwidth. Max sequential write performance hits at 48 MB transfers with a speed of 4.26 GB/s.

Real-World Testing: Game Loading & PCM8

Game Loading

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 26 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 27 | TweakTown.com

While not the fastest at launching games, the Cardea Zero is no slouch, delivering performance that is less than one second slower than our top flash-based performer.

PCMark 8

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 28 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 29 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 30 | TweakTown.com

UL's PCMark 8 storage benchmark accurately represents real-world performance and user scenarios, which is why we consider it to be the premier benchmark we test with. We use the results of this test to rank SSDs in terms of overall user experience or total performance.

These charts demonstrate why we think that Phison E16-powered SSDs currently deliver the best overall performance for AMD Gen4 equipped platforms such as our X570 Crosshair Hero VIII SSD test rig.

Real-World Testing: Transfer Rates

Transfer Rates

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 31 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 32 | TweakTown.com

More than 62,000 files, 100GB in size, and the Cardea Zero manages to do what no other has been able to do to this point; unseat Intel's Optane 905P as our test lab consumer SSD write transfer champion. PCIe Gen4 and 96-Layer BiCS4 is a powerful combination to be sure.

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 33 | TweakTown.com
TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 34 | TweakTown.com

Data transfers really benefit from the new Gen4 interface. The Cardea Zero can beat the Gen 3 competitors in our test pool by well over 500 MB/s.

Final Thoughts

If you have a Gen4 enabled platform and you want the best storage performance you can currently get other than Optane, then you need to take a close look at what TeamGroup is serving up. The Cardea Zero is as good as they come. From its exclusive ultra-thin copper and graphene thermal label to its five-year warranty to its class-leading endurance, the Cardea Zero is a top-shelf SSD through and through.

TeamGroup T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 M.2 SSD Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Looking back at our benchmarks, the Cardea Zero easily vanquished the competing SSDs in our lineup and even managed to set a few lab records for consumer SSDs in the process. And if that isn't enough, we find that current pricing for the Cardea Zero makes it a considerable bargain when compared with the current pricing of other Gen4 x4 SSDs on the market.

TeamGroup's T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 1TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 SSD is TweakTown approved and highly recommended.

Pros

  • Overall Performance
  • High Endurance
  • Ultra-Thin Thermal Label

Cons

  • No SSD ToolBox
Buy at Amazon

Performance

100%

Quality

100%

Features

90%

Value

92%

Overall

96%

The Bottom Line

Gen4 speeds, attractive minimalistic design and bargain pricing make the T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 a highly attractive option for your AMD Zen II platform.

TweakTown award
96%

T-Force Cardea Zero Z440 NVMe PCIe Gen4x 4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$191.99$179.99$191.99
* Prices last scanned on 10/24/2020 at 3:03 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Jon became a computer enthusiast when Windows XP launched. He was into water cooling and benching ATI video cards with modded drivers. Jon has been building computers for others for more than 10 years. Jon became a storage enthusiast the day he first booted an Intel X25-M G1 80GB SSD. Look for Jon to bring consumer SSD reviews into the spotlight.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles