Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,553 Reviews & Articles | 60,067 News Posts

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review (Page 3)

Chad Sebring | Nov 6, 2019 at 11:54 am CST - 3 mins, 30 secs reading time for this page
Rating: 91%Manufacturer: PatriotModel: PVB416G360C7K

Test System Details

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 11 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the AMD CPU-Z screenshots, you will see directly following this image, and this is the system we used to do it, as well as in attaining the results seen in the following pages. Thanks go out to Corsair, ASUS, and GIGABYTE for supporting this venture. For detailed specifications of the system, those can be found below.

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 12 | TweakTown.com

To obtain this screenshot, we made a trip into the BIOS and enabled DOCP, set the FCLK to 1800 and exited. On the X570 board, we are given the 3600MHz we should see, but the timings used are 17-19-19-39 with a 1T command rate. Going back into BIOS we verified that the VDIMM was indeed 1.35, and also noted the 1.08 SOC voltage.

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Adding a tenth of a volt to the VDIMM as well as the SOC, we attempt to lower the timings. While we did not get that far in this endeavor, we were able to keep stability with the 3600MHz of speed and the timings of 15-18-18-39 still using 1T.

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 14 | TweakTown.com

With the same parameters used when we go for overall speed, we kept increasing the divider until we could not pass testing, then backed it down a notch. That left us with the total maximum speed we could achieve at 3933MHz using the DOCP timings, including the ability to keep the 1T command rate. We did try 2T as well, but it did not gain us any progress.

Chad's AMD DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 15 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this Intel system to do so. For this system, we were helped by Corsair, and are using the same card from GIGABYTE seen in the AMD rig. Shout outs go to them for supporting us here as well!

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 16 | TweakTown.com

With our Intel system, the only change made to get here was enabling XMP 2.0. Doing so delivers 3600MHz of speed, but this time we see 17-19-19-39 timings with a 2T command rate. As for the voltages, the VDIMM is set to 1.35V, and for some reason, the ASRock board sets the VCCIO to 1.30 and the VCCSA to 1.35, which is quite high, and not what we usually see.

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Our Intel IMC did not seem to help with the quest to lower the timings past what we saw on the C8H. While adding a tenth of a volt to the VDIMM, leaving the VCCIO and VCCSA as they were, we ended up with the same 15-18-18-39 timings, again, this time at 2T.

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Edition DDR4-3600 16GB Memory Kit Review 18 | TweakTown.com

What did surprise us slightly was the lack of overall speed we were able to obtain with stability. On the X299, the highest speed we could pass testing with was 3733MHz. It is still a free 133MHz to play with, but we did think it would perform similar to the AMD results, but for some reason the Hynix did not want to play as well with the Intel system.

Chad's Intel DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Last updated: Nov 15, 2019 at 01:16 pm CST

Buy at Amazon

Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Series DDR4 16GB (2 x 8GB) 3600MHz Kit

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$89.99$89.99$89.99
* Prices last scanned on 4/6/2020 at 8:43 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.
Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags