Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,544 Reviews & Articles | 59,990 News Posts

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review (Page 3)

Chad Sebring | Oct 28, 2019 at 11:29 am CDT - 3 mins, 12 secs reading time for this page
Rating: 94%Manufacturer: ThermaltakeModel: R009D408GX2-3200C16A

Test System Details

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 11 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the AMD CPU-Z screenshots, you will see directly following this image, and this is the system we used to do it, as well as in attaining the results seen in the following pages. Thanks go out to Corsair, ASUS, and GIGABYTE for supporting this venture. For detailed specifications of the system, those can be found below.

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Enabling DOCP and botting the TOUGHRAM with our 3900X has us sitting at the XMP 2.0 profile except that while running the specified 3200MHz at 16-18-18-38, the motherboard opts for 1T by default. These results are achieved with 1.35V VDIMM and the SOC set to 1.08V.

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 13 | TweakTown.com

The next step taken was an attempt to see how low we could get the timings while keeping stability. Bumping the VDIMM to 1.45 at this time, and adding a tenth of a volt to the SOC, these are the results we achieved. With the memory still at 3200MHz at 1T command rate, we got this kit down to 13-17-17-38.

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Attempting to reach their maximum speed, keeping the voltages the same as the previous run, we were stopped at a hard wall with the 3900X at 3400MHz, but we are still using that 1T command rate as well.

Chad's AMD DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 15 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this Intel system to do so. For this system, we were helped by Corsair, and are using the same card from GIGABYTE seen in the AMD rig. Shout outs go to them for supporting us here as well!

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 16 | TweakTown.com

While we appreciate the steadiness of the BCLK compared to AMD, the results are similar. Employing the XMP 2.0 profile to handle its business, the TOUGHRAM RGB comes to life as expected. We are in dual-channel, they are at 3200MHz, and the timings match all of the provided information. At this time, the RAM is using 1.35V, with the VCCIO at 1.20V, and the SA using 1.35V.

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Even though Intel defaults to the 2T command rate, it did not help us with the timings. We did raise the VDIMM to 1.45V and set the VCCIO to 1.30V, but we left the SA voltage where it was, as it's plenty for what we are doing. We ended up with the same 3200MHz at 13-17-17-38 we saw with the AMD system.

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Intel using the 2T command rate did help us extract a bit more speed than we saw with the AMD rig. While not a huge difference, the extra found here gets us up to 3466MHz using the same volts as above.

Chad's Intel DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Last updated: Nov 15, 2019 at 01:16 pm CST

Buy at Amazon

Thermaltake TOUGHRAM RGB DDR4-3200 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$109.99$109.99$114.99
* Prices last scanned on 3/31/2020 at 1:41 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.
Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags