Epic Thanksgiving Giveaway: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO!
TRENDING NOW: Here's our Top 10 best handpicked Amazon Black Friday tech deals!

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review

Netgear launches a solid platform in the Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security wireless router with smart parental controls.

@TylerBernath
Published Wed, Sep 18 2019 11:58 AM CDT   |   Updated Tue, Nov 3 2020 6:57 PM CST
Rating: 90%Manufacturer: NETGEAR (RS400-100NAS)

Introduction & Pricing, Availability and Specifications

As 802.11ac winds down, I fully expect to see the last products trickle out from each vendor before we go full bore into Wi-Fi 6. For Netgear one of these solutions is the Nighthawk RS400 Cyber Security.

With the ever-increasing threat of cyber-attacks, Netgear has revamped its Genie firmware to offer Circle by Disney for Parental Controls and in partnership with Bitdefender a new solution called Netgear Armor.

As for hardware, Netgear has decided to repurpose the R7000p. This means we have the dual-core BCM4708 operating at 1GHz paired with 256MB of memory and 128M of NAND flash. Radios offered are the BCM4365E 3x3 solution for 5GHz and BCM4360 3x3 for 2.4GHz making this an AC2300 class solution with 600Mbps on the 2.4GHz and 1625 on the 5GHz band.

MSRP of the Netgear Nighthawk Cyber-Security comes in at $299.99 with 3-years of Armor Cyber Security and a one-year hardware warranty.

Buy at Amazon

Netgear Nighthawk RS400

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$299.99$290.49$289.99
* Prices last scanned on 11/26/2020 at 5:03 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Router Details

Netgear Nighthawk RS400 Wireless Router

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 02 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 19 IMAGES

Starting with packaging, Netgear has went all out to let you know this is a secure solution. We have a large shield to the right Disney logo underneath and Bitdefender to the left.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 03 | TweakTown.com

On the backside, we go into further detail and Netgear Armor at the top with performance detailed at the bottom.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Scope of delivery includes, the router, antennas and ethernet cable along with power adapter and reading materials.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The RS400 has removed the Nighthawk branding from the router itself and opted for Armor instead. Otherwise we have the same R7000p layout with activity LEDs along the front.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 06 | TweakTown.com

On the backside, we have four Gigabit LAN in black and a single WAN in yellow along with three antenna connectors.

Management GUI Details

Management GUI

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Setup hasn't changed a bit over the years. We start by creating and account with security questions.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Following up step one, we move to SSID and password.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 22 | TweakTown.com

A Netgear account is required for Armor setup, you can do that in this step.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Finally, we land with a familiar interface; advanced and basic options at the top and sidebar to the left. In the center we get a quick glance at the system and new Armor tab at the bottom.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 25 | TweakTown.com

Moving through settings, we have the ability to customize Wi-Fi including SSID, password, channels and security options.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 26 | TweakTown.com

Netgear Genie still has dynamic QoS and built in speedtest available or you can manually define your connection rate.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 27 | TweakTown.com

To use Circle by Disney you will need to enable it in the router and download the app.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 29 | TweakTown.com

Running through Armor setup, as you can see above, we have our router detected and devices listed on the sidebar.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 30 | TweakTown.com

Clicking on the device list, we can see all devices connected to the router and when they were last scanned by Bit Defender. At the top you have the option of downloading Bit Defender total security for each device.

Test System Setup & Benchmark Throughput Tests

Tyler's Test System Specifications

Wired and Wireless Throughput

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 31 | TweakTown.com

LAN performance topped 949Mbps for the RS400, still inline with current routers.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 32 | TweakTown.com

The Wireless throughput chart is getting pretty long at this point, holding nearly five years of router test results. That said, the RS400 sits near the top offering 80MBps for 2.4GHz and 593Mbps for 5GHz.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 33 | TweakTown.com

Mobile throughput for the RS400 came in at 100Mbps for 2.4GHz and 532Mbps on 5GHz.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 34 | TweakTown.com

Moving into range testing, we see the RS400 near the top with 2.4GHz holding its performance through 30ft.

NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security Wireless Router Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Looking at 5GHz performance with range, we see 532Mbps at 5ft holding through 10ft. At 20ft, performance drops to 422Mbps finishing at 430Mbps.

Final Thoughts

Closing this out, many of you are already thinking what I ran through my head many times. What's the difference between the R7000p and RS400? Especially since the R7000p is much cheaper to purchase and has the exact firmware loaded on the unit.

The TLDR is this; the Netgear Armor Subscription. The RS400 is the only unit offering a free three-year sub to Netgear Armor, something they charge $70 a year for if you buy in. This makes the RS400 MSRP of $299.99 come into focus even with the R7000p at $219.99.

As stated the hardware is nearly identical between the 7000p and RS400, so its only natural to expect performance to match. With this I wasn't disappointed as the 400 was able to reach 949Mbps in LAN testing, 100Mbps with 2.4GHz and 530Mbps in 5GHz. As for range, 2.4GHz was amazing holding its performance past 30ft and 5GHz, started at 530Mbps and lost only 100Mbps at 30ft.

There are also quite a few value-added features to this router, including the basic "Genie" features such as traffic monitor, where you can set your monthly limits and have the router LED change color when you encroach those. You can also have the router shutdown internet access after you reach that limit. Of course, we have access to Disney Circle for advanced parental controls and Netgear Armor with Bitdefender available for all systems on your network.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

90%

Quality

90%

Features

95%

Value

85%

Overall

90%

The Bottom Line

If you are a parent or concerned about your security on the internet, the NETGEAR Nighthawk RS400 AC2300 Cyber-Security wireless router is a solid solution that offers the performance of a Nighthawk router and the security of Bitdefender.

TweakTown award
90%

Netgear Nighthawk RS400

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$299.99$290.49$289.99
* Prices last scanned on 11/26/2020 at 5:03 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

Newsletter Subscription
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles