Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,545 Reviews & Articles | 60,002 News Posts

Patriot P200 2TB SATA III SSD Review (Page 7)

Chris Ramseyer | Sep 4, 2019 at 04:09 am CDT - 1 min, 8 secs reading time for this page
Rating: 84%Manufacturer: Patriot MemoryModel: P200S2TB25

Application Latency and Notebook Battery Life

SYSmark 2014 SE System Responsiveness Test

Patriot P200 2TB SATA III SSD Review 018 | TweakTown.com

With an operating system and the applications used to run the SYSmark 2014 SE suite, the 2TB Patriot P200 scores one as the lowest SATA SSD we've tested in a number of years in the responsiveness test. This is why we feel this drive is better suited for mass storage as a secondary drive rather than your boot drive.

MobileMark 2012 Version 1.5

Patriot P200 2TB SATA III SSD Review 019 | TweakTown.com

On paper, DRAMless SSDs appear to have a power advantage over drive featuring the high consumption component. DRAM requires constant power to hold data so even when the SSD is in a low power state, the DRAM is a drain. For several years leading up to the introduction of these drives coming to market, SSD controller designers claimed notebook battery improvements.

We quickly learned with shipping products that the lack of a cache for the translation map meant the controller and flash had to work longer to write data. This affected the background activity completion time, the data movement that you don't see but happens to keep the drive fast and long lasting.

The 2TB P200 is one of the few SATA SSDs unable to deliver 5 hours of office productivity in our Lenovo Ideapad Y700-17 system.

Last updated: Nov 15, 2019 at 01:16 pm CST

Buy at Amazon

Patriot P200 2TB 2.5" SATA III Internal SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$389.05$382.57$365.21
* Prices last scanned on 4/2/2020 at 1:05 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chris Ramseyer

Chris Ramseyer started his career as a LAN Party organizer in Midwest USA. After working with several computer companies he was asked to join the team at The Adrenaline Vault by fellow Midwest LAN Party legend Sean Aikins. After a series of shake ups at AVault, Chris eventually took over as Editor-in-Chief before leaving to start Real World Entertainment. Look for Chris to bring his unique methods of testing Hard Disk Drives, Solid State Drives as well as RAID controller and NAS boxes to TweakTown as he looks to provide an accurate test bed to make your purchasing decisions easier.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags