TweakTown

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review

We take a look at the brand new ASRock X570 Taichi Ryzen AM4 motherboard, powered by AMD's X570 chipset.

@StevenBassiriTT
Steven Bassiri
Published Fri, Jul 19 2019 1:47 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASRock

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 66 IMAGES

Today we take a look at ASRock's X570 Taichi motherboard, a line of motherboards we have traditionally been very impressed with. The new Taichi seems to be more loaded than the traditional Taichi models, which makes sense since the new chipset offers higher-end features and requires higher-end hardware to fully support those features. Let's take a look at what ASRock has to offer with their X570 Taichi.

Specifications

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 02 | TweakTown.com

The X570 Taichi features three PCI-E 4.0 M.2 slots, 2.4Gbps WIFI controller, an Intel Gbit NIC, tons of 10Gb/s USB, and high-end audio.

Pricing

The X570 Taichi costs around $299.

Buy at Amazon

ASRock X570 Taichi AM4/M.2/DDR4/HDMI/ATX Motherboard

Today Yesterday 7 days ago 30 days ago
$289.99 $289.99 $289.99
Buy
* Prices last scanned on 2/9/2020 at 2:29 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Packaging and X570 Taichi Overview

Packaging and Overview

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 03 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The box is of a new design, it's larger and quite nice. Packaging is excellent and should do a great job of protecting the motherboard.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The accessory package includes four SATA6Gb/s, WIFI antenna, Hex screw driver, SLI-HB bridge, case badge, and M.2 screws.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 06 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 07 | TweakTown.com

ASRock put six fan headers on the motherboard, and the one circled in blue is 1A PWM header for the CPU fan. The other five headers circled in red are rated for up to 2A and are hybrid PWM/DC mode header. The aesthetics of the motherboard have also been re-worked, and the Taichi chipset logo has some welcomed gold. The back of the motherboard has a metal backplate, and there is some diffusion material for the right edge of the underside of the motherboard.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The rear IO panel features six USB 3.0 ports, two USB 3.1 (10Gbps) ports one type-A ports and one type-C, clear CMOS button, Flashback button, WIFI antenna, 1G LAN, HDMI, PS/2 keyboard and mouse, and 7.1 gold plated audio outputs with S/PDIF out.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 09 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Here we find the PCI-E slot arrangement, the first two slots are wired to the CPU at x16 PCI-E 4.0 and operate at x16/x0 or x8/x8. The bottom x16 slot is electrically x4 PCI-E 4.0 routed to the chipset, and we also have two x1 PCI-E 4.0 slots. There are three PCI-E x4 M.2 slots, the top one is routed to the CPU and should be used with any PCI-E 4.0 drives, the middle and bottom slot area routed x4 PCI-E 4.0 to the chipset, but if you use a PCI-E M.2 drive in the bottommost slot it will disable the bottom x16 slot.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 11 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 12 | TweakTown.com

All of the eight SATA6Gb/s ports are routed to the chipset. The USB 3.1 (10Gbps) type-C header and USb 3.0 internal header are located mid board.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 13 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 14 | TweakTown.com

At the bottom of the motherboard we find a power button, reset button, POST code display, and two USB 2.0 internal headers. We also find an addressable RGB LED header and a normal RGB LED header.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 15 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 16 | TweakTown.com

At the center of the motherboard near the CPU socket we find an RGB LED header and a single USB header for AMD's Prism cooler. The motherboard features one 8-pin CPU power header and another optional 4-pin header.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 17 | TweakTown.com

The heat sinks are all screwed into the motherboard, and the VRM heat sink also cools the inductors.

ASRock X570 Taichi Circuit Analysis

Circuit Analysis

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 18 | TweakTown.com

The X570 Taichi shows us the goods with the heat sinks removed!

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 19 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 20 | TweakTown.com

The VRM is in a 12+2 phase configuration, and it uses doublers to get the phase count up to 12 phases. The PWM controller is the new controller from Intersil and it's a 7-phase PWM controller in a 6+1 phase mode that outputs to seven ISL6617 doublers. The power stages are Vishay DrMOS SiC634 that are rated for 50A. The inductors are rated 60A.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 21 | TweakTown.com

The memory VRM is a two phase VRM controlled by a UPI uP1674 PWM controller and two ON Semiconductor FDPC5030SG dual N-channel MOSFETs are used for power.

ASRock X570 Taichi Circuit Analysis Continued

X570 Taichi Circuit Analysis Continued

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Audio hardware includes a Realtek ALC1220, and NE5532 amplifier is on the rear, there is also a PCB divide, and there are also gold series audio capacitors on the motherboard.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 23 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Normal Gbit LAN comes from an i211AT Intel NIC and an ASMedia ASM1184e is used as a PCI-E hub to expand PCI-E lanes.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 25 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 26 | TweakTown.com

A GL850G USB 2.0 hub is used to provide two internal USB 2.0 headers. Here we find the Pericom PI3EQX16 PCI-E 4.0 re-drivers and PI3DBS PCI-E 4.0 quick switches used to move around the PCI-E 4.0 lanes.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 27 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 28 | TweakTown.com

The ASMedia ASM1543 type-C switch is used for the type-C header. We also find USB 3.1 (10Gbps) re-drivers on the back of the motherboard.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 29 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 30 | TweakTown.com

We also find a pricey 256Mbit BIOS ROM, which will allow larger BIOS sizes, which means more CPUs will be supported down the line. The Nuvoton NCT6796D is used as the SIO, while a nuvoton N76E885AT is used for RGB LED control.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 31 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 32 | TweakTown.com

A Flashback IC is used to provide flashback capabilities. A PCI-E clock generators, the IDT6V4 is used for PCI-E 4.0 clocking.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 33 | TweakTown.com

Here we find another USB 3.1 re-driver.

BIOS and Software

BIOS

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 34 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 35 | TweakTown.com

The UEFI BIOS is very similar to that of most of ASRock's motherboards. The UEFI isn't the most glamorous, but it gets the job done. We found some memory OC profiles for certain memory kits, and these profiles look to be quite fancy and offer owners the ability to easily tweak their RAM well beyond XMP levels. We had no trouble overclocking the CPU or the memory, and it seems that the fan curve is set okay for the chipset fan.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 36 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 37 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 38 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 39 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 40 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 41 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 42 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 43 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 44 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 45 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 46 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 47 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Software

Software includes Polychrome SYNC, XFast LAN, APP Shop, Restart to UEFI, and motherboard utility.

Test System Setup

Steven's Motherboard Test System Specifications

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 49 | TweakTown.com
ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 50 | TweakTown.comASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 51 | TweakTown.com

The rear right side of the motherboard lights up with addressable RGBs, and we like how ASRock has implemented it. They have done a great job with the RGBs in the chipset and IO area as well.

Overclocking

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 66 | TweakTown.com

The new CPUs don't overclock like crazy on air, in fact PBOC might be just as effective for mixed use cases. However, memory and FCLK clocks can be changed, and so we are using a 3600MHz kit and seeing how high we can take all cores. We are aiming for 4.3Ghz with a 3600MHz memory clock, and in this case it worked fine at 1.425v since that's where we hit a thermal limit.

However, CPU-Z and HWinfo were reporting the VCore dropping to 1.36-1.38v under load even with the highest level of LLC, but CPUz is probably a bit off considering the system was stable and temperatures were where they were on other motherboards.

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

CINEBENCH R15

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 52 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 53 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 FPU

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 54 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 55 | TweakTown.com

ScienceMark

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 56 | TweakTown.com

HandBrake

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 57 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Fire Strike

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 58 | TweakTown.com

3DMark: Cloud Gate

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 59 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 60 | TweakTown.com

Performance is equal on both of these motherboards, we can't really find a clear winner, but we expect this since AMD's core for the UEFI is a closed off enclave. We will see if this changes as we test more motherboards.

System IO Benchmarks

CrystalDiskMark SATA6G:

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 61 | TweakTown.com

CrystalDiskMark M.2:

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 62 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 63 | TweakTown.com

Storage and network performance are relatively good.

Audio RMAA 5.5:

Sound Judgment by Ear: Excellent, the ALC1220 is doing a fine job. There are five ratings for audio: 1. Problems, 2. Okay, 3. Acceptable, 4. Very good, 5. Excellent 

Power Consumption:

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 64 | TweakTown.com

Power consumption is pretty similar, and we need more samples to make any definitive statements.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

Here are key points about the ASRock X570 Taichi.

What's Hot

Solid VRM: With 50A DrMOS and twelve phases, the X570 Taichi has enough oomph to get your 3900X and unreleased 3950X to their maximums. A good VRM is very important for Performance Boost Over Drive, as the motherboard's electrical design in the VRM is taken into account, and the Taichi has a solid VRM with enough current capability.

Three PCI-E 4.0 M.2 slots: ASRock was able to implement three PCI-E 4.0 M.2 slots with x4 of bandwidth each. The top slot is the best to use with a PCI-E 4.0 M.2 drive as it's directly wired to the CPU and doesn't need to go through the chipset.

WIFI 6: WIFI 6 is the future, and it's backwards compatible with Wireless AC 1.73Mbps while also offering Wireless AX, which should boost network speeds upwards of 2.4Gbps. We are happy to see this feature on the motherboard, as in a few years we will see more and more Wireless AX routers.

What's Not

Internal Type-C Header Placement: The internal USB 3.0 header is placed just fine, but the same cannot be said for the internal type-C USB 3.1 header. If you are using a long GPU, as most span the entire length of the motherboard, it will block a small part of the header, making it quite difficult to plug into the header.

Final Thoughts

The X570 Taichi does cost $300, and while that's not as pricey as some other X570 motherboard, it's still a decent amount of money. The reason is because of the high component cost of most X570 motherboards, so vendors, knowing they would already have to charge a premium, boosted the amount of flair and features to help justify this increase in price. We really like the new aesthetics of the X570 Taichi, but we also like RGB LEDs, and ASRock has done a fine job with that. The firmware is solid, and we see a lot of updates, which is a good thing for a new platform.

The performance is very similar to other X570 motherboards, and overclocking was easy to accomplish. We even spotted some special memory overclocking profiles, which is great for this platform because memory is what is going to be overclocked the most since the CPU doesn't have much headroom. If you are looking for a loaded X570 motherboard with a healthy amount of features at a relatively reasonable price, give the X570 Taichi a look.

ASRock X570 Taichi (AMD X570) Motherboard Review 65 | TweakTown.com

Loaded with features like WIFI 6, a solid 12 phase VRM, and some stellar looks, the X570 Taichi is a very nice motherboard and a great successor to the X470 Taichi.

Performance

92%

Quality

92%

Features

92%

Value

90%

Overall

92%

The Bottom Line

Loaded with features like Wi-Fi 6, a solid 12 phase VRM, and some stellar looks, ASRock's X570 Taichi is a very nice motherboard and a great successor to the X470 Taichi.

TweakTown award
92%

ASRock X570 Taichi AM4/M.2/DDR4/HDMI/ATX Motherboard

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$289.99$289.99$289.99
* Prices last scanned on 2/9/2020 at 2:29 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles