Epic Thanksgiving Giveaway: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO!
TRENDING NOW: Here's our Top 10 best handpicked Amazon Black Friday tech deals!

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review

The Lenovo Flex 6 comes in at just under $1000, and for its price it offers incredible value, packs features to the brim and has a dedicated GPU.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Sat, Jun 15 2019 10:00 PM CDT   |   Updated Tue, Nov 3 2020 6:57 PM CST
Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Lenovo

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 47 IMAGES

Today we are reviewing a really interesting notebook. The Flex series of notebooks is meant to facilitate productivity and access on the go, and in this case, we not only have a 15W U-series CPU, but also an MX 130 discrete GPU from NVIDIA. The notebook came with a digital pen that can be inserted into a USB type-A port for storage. Let's take a look at this ultra slim and portable notebook.

Specifications

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 02 | TweakTown.com

Our model uses the 14" FHD IPS glossy display, the Intel 8th Generation Core i5-8250U, 8GB of DDR4, a 256GB SSD, an HD camera, 1x1 Wireless AC (433Mbps), and a 45Wh battery. The notebook weighs 3.7lbs and measures 12.9"x9.01"x0.69" (LxWxH).

Pricing

The Flex 14 IKB in our configuration cost $800 when launched, but now costs closer to $700.

Buy at Amazon

2018 Lenovo Flex 5 14' IPS TouchScreen FHD (1920x1080)

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$799.77$799.77$799.77
* Prices last scanned on 11/27/2020 at 5:15 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Physical Overview

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 03 | TweakTown.comLenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 04 | TweakTown.com

Lenovo's box is simple, and packaging is simple and effective.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 05 | TweakTown.comLenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 06 | TweakTown.com

Accessories include AC/DC power adapter and manuals. The AC/DC adapter is rated at 20v at 3.25A, so it's a 65W adapter.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 07 | TweakTown.comLenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The top and bottom are made of a composite close in resemblance to aluminum. The notebook uses a dual-hinge design that allows for sturdy 360-degree rotation. The bottom of the notebook features a large rubber grip at the rear and two smaller ones at the front. We can find the intake and speaker vents on the bottom of the notebook.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The top of the notebook is slightly longer than the bottom so you can easily grip the display. The rear of the unit features the exhaust vents. The right side on the notebook features the power button, microSD card slot, USB 3.0 port, and Kensington lock slot. The left side of the notebook features a DC input jack, HDMI port, charging USB 3.0 port, type-C USB 3.0 port, and headphone/mic combo jack.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The QWERTY keyboard features standard sized keys with little key travel distance. We see that Lenovo hasn't swapped the function and control keys as they sometimes do, and we found the typing experience to be a pleasurable one. Unlike some of the more expensive Yoga products, the keyboard does not retract into the body when you rotate the display.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The material surrounding the keyboard and touchpad is brushed aluminum.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 12 | TweakTown.com

The notebook also features a fingerprint sensor for added ease of use.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 13 | TweakTown.com

The display is vibrant, and the keyboard lighting is decent, but you won't really notice it if in a lit room.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 14 | TweakTown.com

The Lenovo Active Pen works well and comes with a clip that sticks in a USB port for travel.

Physical Overview Continued

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 15 | TweakTown.com

The Camera is rated up to 720P and we can see the dual array microphone. We are glad the camera is at the top of the notebook.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 16 | TweakTown.com

As you can see you have 360-degree rotation to turn the notebook into a tablet.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Here we see that the notebook opened, notice that the intake vents only cover a quarter of each of the fans. We are happy to report it was not easy to get the notebook to throttle, we test with AIDA64 and test the CPU, FPU, GPU, and storage all at the same time. Most gaming notebooks throttle, but not this one.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Here we see the 1x1 Realtek WIFI controller and the 45Wh battery.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 19 | TweakTown.com

There is a single SO-DIMM slot with an 8GB module installed.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Here we see the Samsung SSD; it's quite fast reaching peak sequential write speeds upwards of 3500Mb/s, which is the limit of the link between the chipset and CPU.

Software and BIOS

Software

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Lenovo has a pretty well-built software ecosystem that consolidates almost all hardware and even some software settings into one application called Lenovo Vantage.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Under the hardware menu, we find settings for battery, audio/visual, input, smart settings (sensors), and a virtual assistant.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 23 | TweakTown.com

Battery settings are the most important settings of any notebooks, and here we can see everything about battery help and we can do things like put the notebook in conservation mode.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 24 | TweakTown.com

Application-based settings are also available, such as Dolby audio settings. You can also have the notebook mute other applications when making VoIP calls.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 25 | TweakTown.com

TP rejection is important for users who use the touchpad but also Type-C lot, and here we have those settings.

BIOS

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 26 | TweakTown.com

The BIOS isn't your typical UEFI, instead, it's a very basic BIOS with few options. However, that is what we typically see in notebooks like this. You can, of course, do things like disable WIFI and some features.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 27 | TweakTown.comLenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 28 | TweakTown.com
Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 29 | TweakTown.comLenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 30 | TweakTown.com

System Performance Benchmarks

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

These benchmarks are run using default settings and configuration.

CINEBENCH 11.5

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 32 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 33 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 AES and HASH

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 34 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 35 | TweakTown.com

PCMark8 Home

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Handbrake 4K and 720P Transcoding

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 37 | TweakTown.com

WebXPRT 2015

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 38 | TweakTown.com

UNIGINE Heaven 4.0

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 40 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 41 | TweakTown.com

3DMark FireStrike

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 42 | TweakTown.com

We can see that the 8250U in the notebook is being hindered a bit by the single channel memory, and because of the notebook's size and discrete graphics solution we find it's TDP envelope has been slightly restricted, which results in lower CPU performance.

However, there are limitations to what you can expect in a package of this size. Overall, you should be just fine with this solution when it comes to most tasks, and while you wont be able to run AAA game titles, you will be able to tackle pretty much anything else.

System IO and Battery Performance

System IO Benchmarks

Internal Storage Read Test:

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 46 | TweakTown.com

Internal Storage Write Test:

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 47 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Lenovo installed a surprisingly fast SSD in this thin notebook, boasting some of the fastest speeds we have seen. The WIFI could have been a bit faster, but power savings is what Lenovo was aiming for here.

Battery Tests

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 49 | TweakTown.com

With a discrete GPU, you don't expect much in terms of battery life, but here we see decent battery life, although not as good as notebooks like the X380 Yoga.

Thermal Performance

Thermal Imaging

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 50 | TweakTown.com

The notebook operates pretty well under stock conditions, the notebook doesn't get too warm.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 51 | TweakTown.com

Here we can see that the notebook does indeed have two fans; one to cool the CPU and one to cool the GPU, and we can see their air intakes, although they look a bit restricted.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot

Discrete GPU: While the MX 130 might not be as good as NVIDIA's mobile gaming GPUs, if your application can utilize a discrete graphics card, this notebook has one in such a flexible form factor.

Very Lightweight: One aspect of the notebook we really enjoyed was how lightweight it was. These days with larger batteries a lot of notebooks weigh a lot, which makes them cumbersome to take around.

Display and Camera: A lot of new notebooks with thin bezels have their cameras moved to the bottom of the screen, and personally we don't really like the camera placed there due to weird angles. On this notebook, you get the camera at the top of the notebook.

What's Not

WIFI: The WIFI was a bit underwhelming.

Final Thoughts

The Lenovo Flex 14 is a very versatile notebook with a solid array of features in a very slim form factor. The inclusion of the MX 130 is a nice touch, and if you have an application that can use its acceleration, then it's not a bad thing to have. The price is also very reasonable.

Lenovo Flex 6-14IBK (Kaby Lake-R) Laptop Review 52 | TweakTown.com

While the WIFI wasn't the most impressive, the storage performance of the notebook was. Battery life and thermals are what you might expect from a very thin notebook with a discrete GPU. Overall, if you are looking for a goto notebook for your everyday tasks, this one should meet your needs at a reduced budget.

Performance

80%

Quality

89%

Features

92%

Value

95%

Overall

89%

The Bottom Line

Chiming in at under $1,000 with a dedicated GPU, the Lenovo Flex 6 offers a decent amount of value and features.

TweakTown award
89%

2018 Lenovo Flex 5 14' IPS TouchScreen FHD (1920x1080)

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$799.77$799.77$799.77
* Prices last scanned on 11/27/2020 at 5:15 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

Newsletter Subscription

Similar Content

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles