Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,619 Reviews & Articles | 61,086 News Posts

Team Group MP34 Phison E12-Powered NVMe SSD Review (Page 3)

Chris Ramseyer | Jun 11, 2019 at 10:00 am CDT - 1 min, 38 secs time to read this page
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Phison

Game Load Time

VIEW GALLERY - 25 IMAGES

On this page, we move over to real workloads. The first is loading scenes from the game Final Fantasy: Stormblood. The 1TB Team Group MP34 performs well in this test, loading the scenes in less than 14 seconds total.

PCMark 8 Total Storage Bandwidth

Team Group MP34 Phison E12-Powered NVMe SSD Review 015 | TweakTown.com

The PCMark 8 Storage Test uses a wide range of applications that we put into an average throughput score. The 1TB MP34 performs around the same as the other E12-based drives we've tested like the BPX Pro and the PNY CS3030 from last week.

PCMark 8 Extended Storage Test

Team Group MP34 Phison E12-Powered NVMe SSD Review 016 | TweakTown.com

The PCMark 8 Extended Storage Test uses the same nine applications as the previous test but starts with by preconditioning the drives into a dirty state. The applications run in different stages with the recovery phase being the most similar to a drive after you've put some miles on it, so to speak. This is where we see a much larger divide between the BPX Pro and the newer MP34. Both perform about the same in the recovery phases, but the MP34 doesn't have the same performance under heavy workloads.

SYSmark 2014 SE System Responsiveness and Power Tests

Team Group MP34 Phison E12-Powered NVMe SSD Review 017 | TweakTown.com

The Responsiveness Test comes from the SYSmark 2014 SE suite that uses real-world applications in an office environment. The software walks the PC through a typical day in the office all the way down to the coffee breaks.

In this test, we want the highest score possible, but anything over the base score of 1,000 is good for a modern SSD. The 1TB MP34 breaks past the barrier that we determine to be acceptable in our Lenovo Y700-17 gaming notebook.

MobileMark 2012 1.5 Notebook Battery Life

Team Group MP34 Phison E12-Powered NVMe SSD Review 018 | TweakTown.com

We use the same notebook in our battery life test. The software changes to MobileMark, and it uses a typical office day model. Notebook battery life is the weak link with Phison E12 SSDs. The 1TB MP34 gets close to, but doesn't surpass the 5-hour mark.

Last updated: Nov 15, 2019 at 01:16 pm CST

Buy at Amazon

TEAMGROUP T-Force Delta RGB 1TB 2.5" SATA III 3D NAND

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$129.99$129.99$129.99
* Prices last scanned on 6/3/2020 at 10:09 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chris Ramseyer

Chris Ramseyer started his career as a LAN Party organizer in Midwest USA. After working with several computer companies he was asked to join the team at The Adrenaline Vault by fellow Midwest LAN Party legend Sean Aikins. After a series of shake ups at AVault, Chris eventually took over as Editor-in-Chief before leaving to start Real World Entertainment. Look for Chris to bring his unique methods of testing Hard Disk Drives, Solid State Drives as well as RAID controller and NAS boxes to TweakTown as he looks to provide an accurate test bed to make your purchasing decisions easier.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags