Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,589 Reviews & Articles | 67,087 News Posts

V3 Avenger Core i7 930 Gaming Desktop PC (Page 2)

By Tim Roper on Dec 13, 2010 09:12 pm CST
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: V3 Gaming

Packaging

content/3/7/3729_01.jpg

The Avenger rolled into town in a plain brown system box.

content/3/7/3729_02.jpg

Underneath the top flap, we find a glimpse of the foam brackets that cushion the system during transit, as well as the MSI motherboard packaging, which has been repurposed as the accessories box.

content/3/7/3729_03.jpg

content/3/7/3729_04.jpg

As we dig deeper, we see that V3 has also reused the Antec "Twelve Hundred" chassis packaging for the inner box.

content/3/7/3729_05.jpg

content/3/7/3729_06.jpg

Freed from its cardboard and foam prison, we get our first look at the Avenger. Using a combination of matte and glossy textures along with a clear window, gives the system a sleek, monochromatic appearance.

content/3/7/3729_07.jpg

content/3/7/3729_09.jpg

V3 has applied vinyl logo decals on both sides of the chassis to spruce it up a bit.

content/3/7/3729_010.jpg

The full ATX chassis has plenty of room inside and no shortage of fans, including the large 200mm one on top.

content/3/7/3729_08.jpg

The Blu-ray drive occupies the uppermost optical bay. Just above that we have the front I/O, which consists of two USB 2.0 ports, an eSATA port, and mic & headphone jacks.

content/3/7/3729_011.jpg

content/3/7/3729_012.jpg

Rear I/O consists of PS/2 keyboard and mouse inputs, optical and coaxial S/PDIF outs, 2xUSB2.0, 2xSATA, FireWire, 2xUSB3.0, Ethernet, and multi-channel analog audio outs. Each of the three GPUs have DVI and HDMI outs.


Internals

content/3/7/3729_014.jpg

content/3/7/3729_015.jpg

content/3/7/3729_016.jpg

Inside we see the Asetek liquid CPU cooler and radiator, as well as the three ZOTAC GTX 480 GPUs stacked on top of one another. Even with four physical hard drives installed, there's still room for more. The components are all hooked up with a nice, tidy wiring job - something we definitely expect to see in a system from a boutique builder.


Documentation & Accessories

content/3/7/3729_017.jpg

content/3/7/3729_018.jpg

content/3/7/3729_019.jpg

The accessories box contained a few cables and the manuals for several of the internal components.

content/3/7/3729_020.jpg

content/3/7/3729_021.jpg

content/3/7/3729_022.jpg

A black binder contained a ZOTAC driver disc and a disc of DirectX 11 and CUDA technology demos, as well as an invoice and Steam download coupons for Mafia II and Napoleon: Total War.

For this review, V3 and ASUS provided us with a very nice ASUS VG236 23-inch 120MHz 3D-ready LCD monitor and an nVIDIA 3D Vision Kit.

content/3/7/3729_023.jpg

content/3/7/3729_024.jpg

content/3/7/3729_025.jpg

content/3/7/3729_026.jpg

content/3/7/3729_027.jpg

The 3D Vision kit includes the rechargeable glasses, two USB cables, transmitter, documentation, and two extra nosepieces for the glasses.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Tim Roper

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags