Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,391 Reviews & Articles | 64,102 News Posts

Gateway FX6803 Core i7 930 Gaming Desktop PC

By Tim Roper from Dec 2, 2010 @ 9:02 CST
TweakTown Rating: 80%Manufacturer: Gateway

Gaming Performance

 

TweakTown strives to provide our readers with a reasonable expectation of what they can expect in terms of real-world performance in our gaming tests. Instead of testing all systems and titles at, say, 1280x768 with 4xAA and comparing framerates, we determine a particular system's maximum playable settings and report those settings along with the resultant framerates.

 

Even though this makes direct comparison between systems a bit more difficult, we feel it best reflects how the typical gamer uses a system. Most players aren't interested in getting framerates in the 100s at 1280x768 if the title is still playable at 1680x1050.

 


Batman: Arkham Asylum

 

content/3/6/3692_151.jpg

 

Using Arkham Asylum's built-in benchmarking tool (included in Patch 1.1), we achieved maximum playable settings at 1920x1080 with 8xAA and "Very High" performance settings. Gaming at 16xAA produced unsatisfactory framerates.

 

content/3/6/3692_098.png

 

Frame rates were as follows. 48 max, 27 min, with an average of 36.

 


Far Cry 2

 

content/3/6/3692_152.jpg

 

We ran Far Cry 2 with all the settings maxed out at 1920x1080, 8xAA, and Ultra High detail level.

 

content/3/6/3692_099.png

 

It averaged 60 fps, with a high of 116 and a low of 29.

 


Battlefield: Bad Company 2

 

content/3/6/3692_153.jpg

 

content/3/6/3692_100.png

 

At 1920x1080, the FX6803 delivered an average of 34 fps, with a maximum of 53 and a minimum of 28.

 


BioShock

 

content/3/6/3692_154.jpg

 

content/3/6/3692_101.png

 

The system cranked out an average of 120, with a max of 178 and min of 66 at 1920x1080 and Very High detail level.

 

For an in-depth review of the capabilities of the ATI HD 5850, see here.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.


Related Tags