Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,585 Reviews & Articles | 67,054 News Posts

Lantic Radeon HD 6870 1GB Video Card in CrossFire Overclocked (Page 2)

By Shawn Baker on Oct 29, 2010 10:23 pm CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Lantic

The Card

content/3/6/3619_07.jpg

content/3/6/3619_08.jpg

content/3/6/3619_09.jpg

Looking at the card, it follows the reference design which comes as no surprise since currently they're all made by AMD. We've got two 6-Pin PCI-E power connectors at the top of the card along with a single CrossFire connector.

content/3/6/3619_06.jpg

When you take the card out of the package you see Lantic has included a number of little protectors on all the connectors. We've seen companies do this in the past, but we've even got little ones on the Mini DP ports here.

content/3/6/3619_10.jpg

Connectivity also holds no surprises with a Single-Link and Dual-Link DVI connector along with a HDMI port and two mini 1.2 DP ports.

Specifications

Being a reference designed card, we also see reference clock speeds which put the core at 900MHz and the 1GB of GDDR5 memory at 4200MHz QDR. Of course, we mentioned that we are overclocking the card today and while we hoped to have used Sapphires new TRIXX overclocking software which allowed us to use Voltage, when we fired up the program and changed anything we would get a hard lock on the system. Currently the program is still in Beta mode, so we're sure it's something they'll fix before it goes to the public.

What this meant, though, was that we had to go back to old faithful; MSI Afterburner which didn't allow us to adjust the voltage of the card, so for that reason we didn't think our overclock would be as strong; and it wasn't.

content/3/6/3619_01.gif

Still, we ended up with some nice clocks. The core got up to 970MHz on both cards and we rounded the memory off to a nicer sounding 4400MHz QDR.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

Shawn Baker

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Shawn Baker

Shawn takes care of all of our video card reviews. From 2009, Shawn is also taking care of our memory reviews, and from May 2011, Shawn also takes care of our CPU, chipset and motherboard reviews. As of December 2011, Shawn is based out of Taipei, Taiwan.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags