Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,423 Reviews & Articles | 64,519 News Posts

Scythe Chouriki 2 1000W Modular Power Supply (Page 3)

By Zac O'Vadka from Sep 16, 2010 @ 1:41 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Scythe USA Inc.

Inside the Box

content/3/5/3520_10.jpg

Upon opening the external packaging, we see that Scythe has skimped a bit on the internal packaging. The only protection to the power supply itself is a small amount of bubble wrap and the modular cables. Our sample arrived undamaged, but was packaged in another box with additional protection.

content/3/5/3520_11.jpg

After removing the contents from the box, we can see the 10 modular cables Scythe includes with the Chouriki 2 and the power cable.

content/3/5/3520_12.jpg

The Chouriki 2 itself features a beautiful brushed metal finish in what can only be described as a light bronze finish which is very difficult to capture in a photo. The side of the Chouriki 2 contains the I/O specification sticker.

content/3/5/3520_13.jpg

The front of the Chouriki 2 houses the 10 modular plugs for the various cables. One would hope that since all of the PCI-E connectors are blue and the rest are black that this would indicate how the dual 12V rails are split up, but we'll dig into that when we pop the top off.

content/3/5/3520_14.jpg

The bottom holds Scythe's 135mm Kama Flex fan to cool the 1000W of power our Chouriki 2 offers. Scythe claims that the fan only produces 21. 7dBA at a full load of 1350 RPM.

content/3/5/3520_15.jpg

Moving to the back of the Chouriki 2, we can see the modified honeycomb structure used to permit air to flow out of the power supply. While this is slightly more restrictive than the typical honeycomb design, it does add a bit of aesthetics.

content/3/5/3520_16.jpg

Last but not least, we have the installation manual and black mounting screws also included.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags