Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,585 Reviews & Articles | 67,054 News Posts

Cooler Master HAF 912 Mid Tower Chassis (Page 5)

By Chad Sebring on Sep 7, 2010 02:09 am CDT
Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside The Cooler Master HAF 912 Mid Tower Case

content/3/4/3498_14.jpg

Like I said, the interior is left with just the SEC coating, not painted. The hardware box is strapped to the hard drive assembly and didn't get lose all the way from Hong Kong to the mid-west USA.

content/3/4/3498_15.jpg

Behind the bezel there is a rack for four 5.25" drives, and with the use of adapters you can install a floppy drive, too. There is only one tool-less clips for the 5.25" bays placed all the way at the top. It is repositionable, so if you don't want to use the top slot, you can move it where you want it. The mid section holds the removable and rotatable hard drive rack. Pop riveted to the floor are the other two 3.2" drive bays making a total of six.

content/3/4/3498_16.jpg

Screwed to the floor is an additional 2.5" drive rack. It will allow you to install two drives in it here, or mounted above the lower 3.5" rack. Once it is removed from here, the floor has holes to allow a 2.5" drive to mount directly to the floor.

content/3/4/3498_17.jpg

The power supply gets supported with four rubber pads. Under it is a plastic mesh dust filter that can be removed from the outside for easy cleaning.

content/3/4/3498_18.jpg

The motherboard tray has everything you could want. CPU access for the back plates, large holes for easy wire management, tabs to tie wiring to the tray, and a clearly labeled chart and letter assigned holes for the motherboard risers.

content/3/4/3498_19.jpg

Wiring is plenty long enough to reach any motherboards connections. The wiring includes the power LED, HDD LED, power switch and reset switch connection in multi-colored wiring. In all black you get a USB 20 and HD or AC'97 audio connections.

The seven 3.5" bays use a plastic tray that will lock the drive in place. To use these, you simply flex the tray around a 3.5" drive, or with the use of a few included screws, screw in a 2.5" drive to the base of the trays. The rack here is built in a very open design to allow that 230mm fan in front of it to get good flow into the chassis.

content/3/4/3498_21.jpg

Simply removing four screws from the back side, and then lifting the black plastic tabs. The drive bays can be completely removed to make room for even the longest graphics cards.

content/3/4/3498_22.jpg

Here it is reinstalled with a 90° twist to the left.

content/3/4/3498_23.jpg

If you were so inclined, the 2.5" drive rack can be moved off the floor and mounted to the top of the remaining 3.5" bays.

content/3/4/3498_24.jpg

The offset from the motherboard tray to the back panel is greater than what I had in the 922, and is why the 922 had large bumps on the back panels. Doesn't matter where you tie the wires, or even if you want to hide the 24-pin line here, the spacing is enough to still allow for an easy panel installation.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

Jumping into computers for just the aspect of gaming is how it all started for me. After a solid year of gaming, I caught the overclocking bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and I have had both air and water setups to tinker with. With a few years of abusing computer parts, I looked for something new. I then decided to take my chances and try to get a review job with a online site. As an avid overclocker, I am always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals technology.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags