Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,458 Reviews & Articles | 65,042 News Posts

Zotac ZBOX HD-ID11-U Next-Generation ION Nettop (Page 2)

By Tim Roper from Sep 6, 2010 @ 5:28 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: Zotac USA

Packaging

The ZBOX comes in a modestly sized box with a convenient carrying handle. The front sports an angled shot of the machine, and the back lists detailed system specs and images of the ports and other features.

content/3/4/3497_01.jpg

content/3/4/3497_02.jpg

content/3/4/3497_03.jpg

Inside, we find the package's austere contents: the ZBOX (already loaded into a mounting bracket), a laptop-style power supply, stand, DVI-to-VGA adapter, mounting screws, a driver disc and thin manual.

content/3/4/3497_04.jpg

content/3/4/3497_05.jpg

content/3/4/3497_06.jpg

content/3/4/3497_07.jpg

The front panel houses one USB port, memory card reader, headphone jack, mic jack, two status lights, and the power button.

content/3/4/3497_08.jpg

The top panel has another single USB port, along with the exhaust vent for the CPU cooler.

content/3/4/3497_09.jpg

The rear of the machine boasts the lion's share of the machine's I/O. We get 1xeSATA, 4xUSB, Ethernet, DVI out, HDMI out, and an optical S/PDIF out.

content/3/4/3497_010.jpg

And here is the mounting bracket on its own.

content/3/4/3497_011.jpg

The bottom of the chassis, revealing the air intake vent.

content/3/4/3497_012.jpg

The bottom edge of the chassis with keyhole slot for the included stand.

content/3/4/3497_013.jpg


Internals

Removing the side panel only requires loosening two thumbscrews.

content/3/4/3497_014.jpg

Here we see the clean and not-too-cramped internals of the ZBOX.

content/3/4/3497_015.jpg

We'll be finishing out the system with a 640GB HDD provided by our friends at Seagate and a 4GB RAM module from our friends at Crucial.

We'll install the 64-bit version of Windows 7 Enterprise as our OS.

content/3/4/3497_016.jpg

This is where the HDD goes, obviously.

content/3/4/3497_019.jpg

Remove one screw, flip this tab back, and insert the drive.

content/3/4/3497_020.jpg

It will only fit one way, so we had a hard time screwing it up.

content/3/4/3497_021.jpg

Close the tab and replace the screw, and the ZBOX holds its new HDD snuggly in place.

content/3/4/3497_022.jpg

RAM goes here.

content/3/4/3497_023.jpg

content/3/4/3497_024.jpg

Again, fairly idiot-proof, although the manual is unfortunately silent about which specific types of RAM the ZBOX supports. We originally tried it with a stick of 533MHz RAM that we had laying around, which we soon realized wasn't supported. The box and the product sheet mention 800MHz RAM, though we found that 677MHz would also do the trick.

Once we were up and running, installing the OS was as simple as connecting an external USB-powered DVD drive and inserting the installation disc.

Once the OS install completed, we swapped the disc for the driver disc supplied with the ZBOX. The driver installer gives the option of installing all the drivers at once or one at a time. We went with the "all at once" option, which worked for almost all the drivers. The graphics driver failed to install, and we ended up just downloading that one from Zotac's website, which conveniently provides links to all the necessary drivers. It's probably not a bad idea to go this route for all the drivers, since the ones on the disc might not be the most recent.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags