Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,459 Reviews & Articles | 65,080 News Posts

ASUS USB-N13 802.11n Adapter (Page 4)

By Sean Kalinich from Aug 8, 2010 @ 21:30 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ASUS

Setup

We have already told you that the shipping drivers did not work with our version of Windows (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) but that does not mean that they do not work. Once we downloaded the latest driver and utility from ASUS' website we were in business.

content/3/4/3441_10.png

Once things are installed you are able to access the menu from the system tray icon.

content/3/4/3441_11.png

Once you are in the Configuration Utility things get more interesting. The first page looks just like any other wireless utility with information about your current connection.

content/3/4/3441_12.png

content/3/4/3441_13.png

Things get really interesting when we hit the Config page. Here is where you can change the mode of the USB-N13. You can have it run as a client station or as a software based Access Point and a Client Station.

content/3/4/3441_14.png

When you turn on the Soft AP you have to tell the USB-N13 which connection you are going to share with members of the wireless group. This can be an internal adapter or even a Cellular Wireless card.

content/3/4/3441_15.png

Once you decide to enable the Soft AP, you have to give it an SSID as well as establish an encryption key. You will not get the chance to change the encryption. You are getting WPA2 Pre Shared Key using AES (not that I mind at all).

content/3/4/3441_16.png

There are a couple of advanced items that you can run as well. The one that I find the most interesting is the Multimedia/Gaming Environment option. Interestingly enough, there is no Xlink mode to be found on the Windows 7 version of the drivers.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags