Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,427 Reviews & Articles | 64,578 News Posts

ASRock 880G Extreme3 (AMD 880G) Motherboard (Page 4)

By Sean Kalinich from Jul 14, 2010 @ 6:25 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

content/3/3/3398_11.jpg

The BIOS on the ASRock 880G Extreme3 is simple, yet powerful. They stuffed almost everything onto one single page. This page is the OC Tweaker page (hmmm, sounds a lot like AI Tweaker).

content/3/3/3398_12.jpg

content/3/3/3398_13.jpg

The Turbo50 profile is located right at the top.

content/3/3/3398_14.jpg

There are also a couple of overclock methods. The one we used was the async.

content/3/3/3398_15.jpg

content/3/3/3398_16.jpg

The ASRock 880G Extreme3 has some nice features for letting you adjust the multiplier (and overall clock speed) of each CPU core.

content/3/3/3398_17.jpg

content/3/3/3398_18.jpg

The RAM dividers are a little limited, but it is nice to be able to store OC profiles.

content/3/3/3398_19.png

There were some odd settings in the memory configuration, but they did not seem to affect anything.

content/3/3/3398_20.jpg

content/3/3/3398_21.jpg

The rest of the BIOS is pretty straight forward and has the typical options you would expect.


Overclocking

Overclocking the 880G Extreme3 was fairly easy. ASRock has made sure that the board is responsive to the demands of pushing the system. However, it does seem rather picky on the RAM front. I have been able to push the Kingston RAM to a little over 1600MHz before, but not on the 880G Extreme3. For some reason when I pushed the RAM close to 1600MHz the board would drop the video. I could be sitting at the desktop and the screen would go blank.

I also noticed that the voltage listings for RAM seemed to be a little off. To get an even 1.65V for the RAM I had to set it to 1.659. In the end at my stable clock of 251x16 I backed the RAM only down to 1338MHz which keeps it right around the default speed.

content/3/3/3398_22.png

You can see the validation for the Phenom II X6 on the 880G Extreme3 here.


OC Tuner

The ASRock OC Tuner software looks quite cheesy. You would think that in this day of computer graphics they could have come up with something a little better looking.

content/3/3/3398_23.png

One of the issues that I did run into using this software was that pushing the system to 251MHz clocked the RAM over 1600MHz. This caused the system to fail (again) as the graphics relying on a combination of sideport memory and the installed RAM could not deal with that speed.

content/3/3/3398_24.png

content/3/3/3398_25.png

Still, you do have options to do some minor tinkering with this software. However, it is not an enthusiast level overclocking tool.

content/3/3/3398_26.png

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary (even using the same exact same hardware configuration). Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags