Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,423 Reviews & Articles | 64,505 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-655BR3G/A 3150Mbps 3G Mobile Wireless Router (Page 5)

By Sean Kalinich from Jun 2, 2010 @ 2:28 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The WebUI

When you head to the default IP for the TEW-655BR3G/A you will be greeted with a status screen that shows you your connection status.

content/3/3/3322_17.png

Once you login and click on the advanced icon you are allowed into the rest of the WebUI. Here you can configure quite a bit and access some very nice features that lie under the surface of the TEW-655BR3G/A.

content/3/3/3322_18.png

Clicking on the network setup link gets you to the settings for both the internal LAN as well as the 3G connection. Looking at the top of the page you will see that you can configure how the RJ-45 port works. You can set it to LAN, WAN and even Off (although I am not sure why you would want to turn off the RJ-45 port).

content/3/3/3322_19.png

Below the LAN settings is where you can adjust the settings for your 3G modem. For our testing we were using a Sprint Sierra Wireless Compass 597. This required us to manually set up our access. For many this step will not be needed. It is also important to note that the Compass 597 has a built in GPS and WiFi Radio that gave us some additional issues later on. These were easy to get around, but were frustrating at first.

content/3/3/3322_20.png

The TEW-655BR3G also features a DHCP server (like many others) complete with fixed IP mappings and the ability to view attached clients by IP.

content/3/3/3322_21.png

The wireless page gives you many of the same options you would find in single band home wireless routers. We were even able to use the TEW-655BR3G/A while not broadcasting the SSID. This is something that has not always worked on travel routers.

content/3/3/3322_22.png

content/3/3/3322_23.png

content/3/3/3322_24.png

Under forwarding rules you can even setup virtual servers (for something like FTP, video streaming; even web hosting and email). You can also configure gaming and video services. Believe it or not, you can also establish a DMZ. Like we said, the TEW-655 has routing features you would normally only find in home routers.

content/3/3/3322_25.png

Surprisingly the security settings are very flexible. You have options for packet filtering, domain blocking (including logging attempts to access the domains and DNS resolution attempts), MAC address controls (for locking down your wireless even more) and a few other more mundane options.

content/3/3/3322_26.png

The Advanced settings are where you will find things like the system log, Dynamic DNS settings (to get that mobile┬ůumm, video site going), Quality of Service and Simple Network Management Protocol. You can build routing tables, set the system time and finally you can also setup a schedule for some for the forwarding and security features.

content/3/3/3322_28.png

The ToolBox is very simple and does not need much explanation.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags