Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,587 Reviews & Articles | 67,055 News Posts

Sapphire Radeon HD 5970 TOXIC 4GB Video Card (Page 3)

By Shawn Baker on Apr 20, 2010 09:44 am CDT
Rating: 99%Manufacturer: Sapphire

The Card

content/3/2/3242_08.jpg

content/3/2/3242_09.jpg

content/3/2/3242_10.jpg

content/3/2/3242_11.jpg

The card is huge; well, when we say huge we mean it takes up three slots instead of the standard two. Overall, it's not really any bigger than a standard HD 5970. In saying that, though, the fact it's got three massive fans on the cooler makes it look and feel so much bigger than it actually is.

While the I/O shows no changes with the two Dual Link DVI connectors and single mini DisplayPort being present, the big difference about this card compared to other HD 5970s is the fact that it requires two 8-Pin PCI-E power connectors instead of a single one alongside a 6-Pin. For most people this isn't going to be an issue, but in saying that, it's clearly something worth noting.

Specifications

content/3/2/3242_01.gif

When it came to checking the clock speeds I had to double check one of my previous reviews of a HD 5970 to make sure I was reading the overclock correctly. Even after I checked one of my older GPU-Z screen shots I googled to triple check that I was seeing the overclock right.

The 900MHz core clock is 175MHz higher than the stock HD 5970. As for the GDDR5, that's gone from 4000MHz QDR to 4800MHz QDR. If that wasn't tickling your fancy, how about the fact that that 4800MHz QDR clock is for 4GB of GDDR5 instead of the standard 2GB?

If there was ever a card made for triple monitor Eyefinity gaming, this is the one!

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

Shawn Baker

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Shawn Baker

Shawn takes care of all of our video card reviews. From 2009, Shawn is also taking care of our memory reviews, and from May 2011, Shawn also takes care of our CPU, chipset and motherboard reviews. As of December 2011, Shawn is based out of Taipei, Taiwan.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags