Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,452 Reviews & Articles | 64,934 News Posts

A-DATA Nobility N002 128GB USB 3.0 + SATA-II Portable HDD (Page 4)

By Chris Ramseyer from Apr 9, 2010 @ 1:19 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: A-DATA

The A-DATA Nobility N002 128GB USB 3.0

content/3/2/3225_06.jpg

Here we get our second look at the front of the A-DATA Nobility N002. On the surface it looks like any other 2.5 inch form factor solid state drive.

content/3/2/3225_07.jpg

On the bottom of the drive we see that things start to change a little. There is a cover over the SATA II power and data connectors and four rubber feet cover the bottom holes that are normally used for mounting. All of the rubber pieces can be removed and the N002 used as a standard SATA II drive.

content/3/2/3225_08.jpg

Here we see the standard data and power SATA connectors are where they should be for normal operation in regular SATA.

content/3/2/3225_09.jpg

This is where things get interesting; on the side we found a USB 3.0 miniport.

content/3/2/3225_10.jpg

Our undercover investigation found that A-DATA is already using the latest variant of the Indilinx Barefoot called ECO.

The additional hardware to enable USB 3.0 also adds to the cost and here we see it in the upper right hand corner.

content/3/2/3225_11.jpg

On the back we see the rest of the Intel flash. There are sixteen chips total, eight on each side.

content/3/2/3225_12.jpg

Here we get a closer look at the USB 3.0 hardware and it is not from NEC. It looks like we have a new player in the USB 3.0 game.

content/3/2/3225_13.jpg

The A-DATA Nobility N002 comes with a USB 3.0 cable that is around 2 feet long. Here we see the cable next to the drive.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags