Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,460 Reviews & Articles | 65,100 News Posts

ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890GX) Motherboard (Page 3)

By Sean Kalinich from Mar 1, 2010 @ 23:09 CST
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: ASUS

Box and Contents

AMD provided us with an ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 for our 890GX testing. This board has more than a few nice features. Let's take a look at them now.

As with all of the new "Pro" boards from ASUS, we find the box to be an interesting contrast.

content/3/1/3160_02.jpg

The light green color is for AMD (as the blue is for Intel). We still have to deal with the large "medallion" on the front, but there are some nice logos to get our attention on the front of the box. The biggest one is the Core Unlocking ability. The handy feature allows some tri-core and even dual core Phenom II and Athlon II owners to open up additional cores on their CPUs.

content/3/1/3160_03.jpg

The back of the box goes into a little more detail about the major features and even provides a detailed image of the board and what you get with it

content/3/1/3160_04.jpg

content/3/1/3160_05.jpg

Inside the box is the usual compliment of goodies with two interesting exceptions. The first is a card and the second is a pair of SATA 3.0 cables.

content/3/1/3160_06.jpg

The SATA 3.0 cables look almost exactly like a typical SATA II cable with the exception of the split and the white plastic "label" on them. They almost look like some of the early SAS cables I have seen, without the power and extra three pins that is.

content/3/1/3160_07.jpg

The included card is odd and says it is needed for full x16 single card mode. What is odd is that it says you need to put this in the "black" PCIe x16 slot, but as you will see below there is no black slot on the board.

content/3/1/3160_08.jpg

However, if you check the manual it does explain which slot they mean; it is the top x16 slot (the grey one). This is only needed to get full x16 performance from the lower blue slot, but even without the card in place the slot will work, but it will just be limited to x8.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags