Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,427 Reviews & Articles | 64,570 News Posts

Kingston SSDNow V+ Series SNVP325-S2B 512GB Gen 2 Solid State Drive (Page 4)

By Chris Ramseyer from Feb 19, 2010 @ 7:41 CST
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingston Technology

The Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 512GB SSD Bundle

content/3/1/3147_07.jpg

We will start out with the extensive bundle that Kingston supplies with their kit version. Here we see the included drive enclosure with the USB cable, SATA power and data cable as well as the disk with the manual and information. Also included are two rails that will allow you to install the SSDNow V+ in a standard 3.5" hard drive bay.

content/3/1/3147_08.jpg

Here we get our first look at the drive. I noticed that it states Assembled in Japan. That leads me to think Toshiba had quite a bit of influence on the V+.

content/3/1/3147_09.jpg

There is not a lot going on with the back of the drive since all of the information is on the top label.

content/3/1/3147_10.jpg

On the side we see that the drive has all of the mounting locations where they should be, so you will not have a problem mounting the drive in your notebook or desktop.

content/3/1/3147_11.jpg

The power and data connectors are also where they should be; no problems here.

content/3/1/3147_12.jpg

With the drive apart we found Toshiba parts all over the place. The only non Toshiba chip we found was the Micron cache.

content/3/1/3147_13.jpg

Being a 512GB drive, we expected to find flash on both sides of the PCB and here it is. There are 16 total flash chips that are BGA and single stacked.

content/3/1/3147_14.jpg

The drive case is lined with thermal transfer material. To my knowledge this is the first time an SSD has come this way, at least the first time I have received one. This will allow heat to move more efficiently from the chips to the drive case.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags