Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,521 Reviews & Articles | 65,849 News Posts

Antec Mini Skeleton-90 Open Air Mini-ITX Case (Page 6)

By Chad Sebring from Nov 3, 2009 @ 7:34 CST
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

content/2/9/2992_20.jpg

Using my usual mITX components, only this time a 35W Celeron is my processor of choice, I was able to get everything in pretty easily. Even with connections for the front I/O components needing to be plugged in at the opposite end of the board, there is sufficient length in the wires to get the job done.

content/2/9/2992_22.jpg

Once the tray was returned to its locked position and the thumbscrew replaced, all that is left is placing the optical drive of choice to the left and up to two 2.5" drives to the right. I don't currently own any 2.5" drives but I still have a trick up my sleeve to test the performance.

content/2/9/2992_23.jpg

As I'm showing here, the trays can be simply hung on the sides to add more drive space. A little bit harder to see, is the room above the CPU cooler. I used a low profile cooler from SilverStone, but I seriously can't see much more than stock or stock-like coolers being able to fit.

content/2/9/2992_24.jpg

There is a bit of an easier look at the cooler height from this angle. I would have liked a bit more room. Everything looks clean with the completed install, even when you have to wire the 4-pin CPU power cable around the back as I did. I found plenty of length to all the power leads to get everything I needed connected done so with no fighting.

content/2/9/2992_25.jpg

One last side shot, this time the opposing side, all buttoned up and in proper form.

content/2/9/2992_26.jpg

Booting up for the first time, the fan was already set to high. I was slightly surprised by the lack of a hum coming from this fan. I would have expected this fan to be louder than what I actually was hearing. Once I set the CPU fan all the way up in BIOS, the two sort of blended at the same resonance, which made it hard to tell which was actually louder.

content/2/9/2992_27.jpg

And of course I had to get one in action with the LED turned on!

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags