Palit Radeon HD 4670 Super 512MB Graphics Card

Today we have a look at the Palit HD 4670 Super and try to find out if there is anything truly super about it.
| Dec 18, 2008 at 11:00 pm CST
Rating: 83%Manufacturer: Palit

Introduction

PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
IntroductionWhile the graphics card team over at AMD might have the higher end of the market sorted out, you have to wonder how they're going in the lower and the mid-range market. Today we take the time to look at one of the main mid-range cards from AMD, the HD 4670.In our usual style we're not just looking at any old HD 4670, we're looking at the Super version from Palit which carries with it some extra memory and other handy features.So with that said and done, let's take the time to have a quick look at the package and a closer look at the card before we see exactly how this mid-range card performs.

The Package

The PackageChecking out the front of the box, we don't see anything too out of the ordinary. The only difference is that because the card is a mid-range one, the package is smaller. This helps keep costs down when it comes to sending the cards around the world.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Apart from Frobot taking up most of the box, we have a sticker that takes up a good chunk of it as well. We can see the model of the card along with some of the main features like 512MB, GDDR3, Dual-link DVI and more.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Turning the box over, we have some more specifications on the card in a number of languages. Also across the bottom we have the Palit website and an email address. The smaller box design does limit what can be displayed.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Like most Palit cards, there isn't a whole lot going on inside the package. With no extra cables etc. we only find ourselves staring at an installation guide and a driver CD.

The Card

The CardPulling the card out of the box, there isn't a whole lot to see when looking front on. The middle of the card has a large gold cooler that takes up two slots. We can see that it only makes contact with the core and not the memory, but does blow air over the modules.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Like most mid-range cards, we can see that no external power is required. What we do have, though, which we're used to seeing on all AMD based graphics cards are the Crossfire connectors located at the top of the card in the event you want to put a few of these together.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
As usual, when it comes to the I/O side of things we've got everything we need. Apart from the standard Dual-link DVI port we have a VGA port and alongside these we have a HDMI and Display Port. We can also see here that the card does take up two slots thanks to the larger cooler and extra VGA port. SpecificationsAs the Super name normally suggests on Palit cards, we see an extra 256MB of GDDR3 memory on the card which takes us up to 512MB. The core comes in at 750MHz while the memory mentioned comes in at quite a large 2000MHz.

Test System Setup and 3DMark Vantage

Test System SetupProcessor(s): Intel i7 920 @ 3.8GHz (190MHz x 20)Cooling: Noctua NH-U12P (Supplied by Noctua)Motherboard(s): GIGABYTE EX58-UD5 (Supplied by GIGABYTE)Memory: 3 X 2GB OCZ Technology PC-12800 DDR-3 8-8-8-24 (OCZ3G1600LV6GK) Hard Disk(s): Western Digital 300GB Velicorapter (Supplied by Western Digital)Operating System: Windows XP Professional SP2, Windows Vista SP1 64-BitDrivers: Catalyst 8.11Being a mid-range card, we have modified our benchmark layout slightly for this round. While we do test all the games in the new line-up, we test 1280 x 1024 and 1680 x 1050 only. We've also removed AA and AF tests due to the plain fact that mid-range cards really do fall to their knees when these settings are on, making the tests pretty pointless.3DMark VantageVersion and / or Patch Used: 1.0.1Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.comProduct Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/products/3dmarkvantage/Buy It Here
3DMark Vantage is the new industry standard PC gaming performance benchmark from Futuremark, newly designed for Windows Vista and DirectX10. It includes two new graphics tests, two new CPU tests, several new feature tests, and support for the latest hardware. 3DMark Vantage is based on a completely new rendering engine, developed specifically to take full advantage of DirectX10, the new graphics API from Microsoft.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Compared to the HD 4650, we can see a small bump in performance; nothing major, though, so it will be interesting to see what happens in real world tests.

Benchmarks - PT Boats: Knights of the Sea

PT Boats: Knights of the SeaVersion and / or Patch Used: Benchmark DemoDeveloper Homepage: http://en.akella.com/Product Homepage: http://www.pt-boats.net/
PT Boats: Knights of the Sea is a naval action simulator that places gamers in charge of a mosquito fleet of the Allied Forces, Russia or Germany during the height of World War II.Using the latest Direct X 10 technology PT Boards - Knights of the Sea manages to apply a lot of stress to the components of today which in turn gives us quite an intensive benchmark.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under PT Boats we can see the HD 4670 does come out a good 3FPS faster in the minimum at 1280 x 1024, which does translate to almost 20%. You would need to drop the settings from high to medium or even low to bring us close to that 30 FPS minimum we like to see.

Benchmarks - CINEBENCH R10

CINEBENCH R10Version and / or Patch Used: Release 10Developer Homepage: http://www.maxon.net/Product Homepage: http://www.maxon.net
CINEBENCH is a real-world test suite that assesses your computer's performace capabilities. MAXON CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software, CINEMA 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Spider-Man, Star Wars, The Chronicles of Narnia and many more.MAXON CINEBENCH runs several tests on your computer to measure the performance of the main processor and the graphics card under real world circumstances. The benchmark application makes use of up to 16 CPUs or CPU cores and is available for Windows (32-bit and 64-Bit) and Macintosh (PPC and Intel-based).
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under CINEBENCH we again see that the HD 4670 does manage to come out slightly ahead.

Benchmarks - World in Conflict

World in ConflictVersion and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.5Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in TestDeveloper Homepage: http://www.massive.se Product Homepage: http://www.worldinconflict.com
World in Conflict is a real-time strategy video game by Massive Entertainment and to be published by Sierra Entertainment for Windows (DX9 and DX10) and the Xbox 360.The game is set in 1989 where economic troubles cripple the Soviet Union and threaten to dissolve it. However, the title pursues a "what if" scenario where, in this case, the Soviet Union does not collapse and instead pursues a course of war to remain in power. It is an intensive new game is sure to put plenty of stress on even the latest graphics cards and we use the built-in benchmarking for our testing.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under WIC we can see that the HD 4670 performs significantly better then the HD 4650. At medium settings you're able to break that important 30FPS minimum at both 1280 x 1024 and 1680 x 1050 which is great.

Benchmarks - Crysis Warhead

Crysis WarheadVersion and / or Patch Used: unpatchedTimedemo or Level Used: AirfieldDeveloper Homepage: http://www.crytek.comProduct Homepage: http://crysiswarhead.ea.com/Buy It Here
Crysis Warhead updates and refines the gameplay of the original game through a sidestory plot involving Psycho, one of previous protagonist Nomad's allies. The game is a parallel story that follows Sergeant Michael "Psycho" Sykes, a character from the original Crysis, as he faces his own trials and challenges on the other side of the island during the time period of the first game.It also showcases a new, enhanced and optimized version of CryEngine 2 using full DX10 extensions and is the first game developed by Crytek's Budapest studio.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under Crysis Warhead we see both cards really struggle. In the minimum department both cards score quite close together, whilst in the average department we do see the HD 4670 show a performance increase of about 20%.

Benchmarks - Far Cry 2

Far Cry 2Version and / or Patch Used: 1.01Timedemo or Level Used: Ranch LongDeveloper Homepage: http://www.ubi.com/Product Homepage: http://www.farcry2.com/Buy It Here
The Dunia Engine was built specifically for Far Cry 2 by the award-winning Ubisoft Montreal development team. It delivers the most realistic destructible environments, amazing special effects such as dynamic fire propagation and storm effects, real-time night-and-day cycle, dynamic music system, non-scripted enemy A.I. and so much more.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Far Cry 2 settings are a bit weird; under the render quality settings we're at high but under performance we're at low. With the settings as they are, we can see that some pretty good performance is seen from the HD 4670 at 1280 x 1024 with us being almost at that 30FPS minimum we like to see.

Benchmarks - S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear SkyVersion and / or Patch Used: 1.5.07Timedemo or Level Used: Custom TimedemoDeveloper Homepage: http://www.gsc-game.com/Product Homepage: http://cs.stalker-game.com/en/Buy It Here
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky, is the stand-alone prequel for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, a first-person shooter computer game by Ukrainian developer GSC Game World.[3] The game consists of a roughly 50/50 mix of new areas and old, remodeled areas from the previous game. The X-ray graphics engine has been updated to version 1.5 and includes DirectX 10 support (later patch 1.5.06 included DirectX 10.1). Additionally, the AI received an overhaul to accommodate the new faction wars feature.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under S.T.A.L.K.E.R. we see the HD 4670 again perform well at the lower resolution, offering us a playable game experience. While not the prettiest, it's certainly playable which really is the most important.

Benchmarks - Left 4 Dead

Left 4 DeadVersion and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam UpdateTimedemo or Level Used: Custom TimedemoDeveloper Homepage: http://www.valvesoftware.com/Product Homepage: http://www.l4d.com/Buy It Here
Left 4 Dead uses the latest version of Valve's Source engine, with improvements such as multi-core processor support and physics-based animation to more realistically portray hair and clothing, and to improve physics interaction with enemies when shot or shoved in different body parts. Animation was also improved to allow characters to lean realistically when moving in curved paths. Rendering and artificial intelligence were scaled up to allow for greater number of enemies who can navigate the world in better ways, such as climbing, jumping or breaking obstacles. Lighting has been enhanced with new self-shadowing normal mapping and advanced shadow rendering that is important to convey information about the environment and player actions.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Left 4 Dead gives us some pretty good numbers at both resolutions. We can see the HD 4670 Super also has some pretty decent gains over the HD 4650.

Benchmarks - World in Conflict - XP

World in ConflictVersion and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.5Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in TestDeveloper Homepage: http://www.massive.se Product Homepage: http://www.worldinconflict.com
World in Conflict is a real-time strategy video game by Massive Entertainment and to be published by Sierra Entertainment for Windows (DX9 and DX10) and the Xbox 360.The game is set in 1989 where economic troubles cripple the Soviet Union and threaten to dissolve it. However, the title pursues a "what if" scenario where, in this case, the Soviet Union does not collapse and instead pursues a course of war to remain in power. It is an intensive new game is sure to put plenty of stress on even the latest graphics cards and we use the built-in benchmarking for our testing.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Under WIC in XP performance is all over the place with the HD 4650 showing some slight gains over the HD 4670. Other times we see both cards scoring the same and in one spot the HD 4670 comes ahead.

Benchmarks - Far Cry 2 - XP

Far Cry 2Version and / or Patch Used: 1.01Timedemo or Level Used: Ranch LongDeveloper Homepage: http://www.ubi.com/Product Homepage: http://www.farcry2.com/Buy It Here
The Dunia Engine was built specifically for Far Cry 2 by the award-winning Ubisoft Montreal development team. It delivers the most realistic destructible environments, amazing special effects such as dynamic fire propagation and storm effects, real-time night-and-day cycle, dynamic music system, non-scripted enemy A.I. and so much more.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
We continue to see the HD 4670 come out ahead, but this time the gains are not as large as we saw under Vista.

Benchmarks - S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky - XP

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear SkyVersion and / or Patch Used: 1.5.07Timedemo or Level Used: Custom TimedemoDeveloper Homepage: http://www.gsc-game.com/Product Homepage: http://cs.stalker-game.com/en/Buy It Here
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky, is the stand-alone prequel for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, a first-person shooter computer game by Ukrainian developer GSC Game World.[3] The game consists of a roughly 50/50 mix of new areas and old, remodeled areas from the previous game. The X-ray graphics engine has been updated to version 1.5 and includes DirectX 10 support (later patch 1.5.06 included DirectX 10.1). Additionally, the AI received an overhaul to accommodate the new faction wars feature.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
We again see the HD 4670 perform quite well at the lower resolution. Compared to the HD 4650 the gains are quite impressive at 1280 x 1024. At 1680 x 1050, though, the cards do perform closer together.

Temperature & Sound Tests

Temperature Tests
With the TES 1326 Infrared Thermometer literally in hand we found ourselves getting real-world temperatures from the products we test at load (3D clock speeds).There are two places we pull temperature from - the back of the card directly behind the core and if the card is dual slot and has an exhaust point we also pull a temperate from there, as seen in the picture.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
The large cooler does a good job of keeping the temperature down on the more powerful card.Sound Tests
Pulling out the TES 1350A Sound Level Meter we find ourselves quickly yelling into the top of it to see how loud we can be.After five minutes of that we get a bit more serious and place the device two CM away from the fan on the card to find the maximum noise level of the card when idle (2D mode) and in load (3D mode).
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Not only is it cooler, the larger fan helps keep noise down which is also great.

Power Consumption Tests

Power Consumption Tests
Using our new PROVA Power Analyzer WM-01 or "Power Thingy" as it has become quickly known as to our readers, we are now able to find out what kind of power is being used by our test system and the associated graphics cards installed. Keep in mind; it tests the complete system (minus LCD monitor, which is plugged directly into AC wall socket).There are a few important notes to remember though; while our maximum power is taken in 3DMark06 at the same exact point, we have seen in particular tests the power being drawn as much as 10% more. We test at the exact same stage every time; therefore tests should be very consistent and accurate.The other thing to remember is that our test system is bare minimum - only a 7,200RPM SATA-II single hard drive is used without CD ROM or many cooling fans.So while the system might draw 400 watts in our test system, placing it into your own PC with a number of other items, the draw is going to be higher.
PALIT HD 4670 SUPER
Power usage between the two cards is very similar with the more powerful HD 4670 using only a bit more power at load.

Final Thoughts

Final ThoughtsHonestly, I have to say that I wasn't expecting a whole lot when it came to the HD 4670. Mid-range cards really aren't that exciting and they tend to offer a pretty poor game experience at all resolutions. What was surprising, though, is that the HD 4670 Super is actually able to play some more recent games pretty well at around 1280 x 1024. If you mess around with the settings even further, you could probably get some games playing pretty well at 1680 x 1050, too.Sure, you're not going to get the same visual quality as something like a HD 4870, but for the price the HD 4670 is one card you could actually be quite happy with. However, the Palit HD 4670 does lack in certain departments; the bundle is almost non-existent and the dual slot design is also going to be a pain to some people. But the thing is, if you don't need the bundle and you don't mind the dual slot design then the card is a good choice with great performance, noise and cooling ability. If that wasn't enough, Palit have turned around and slapped on Display Port and something more useful to the HT crows, a HDMI port. While there is no doubt that I would rather be playing games on a HD 4870 or a GTX 280, the HD 4670 Super from Palit is a good choice for people who game at lower resolutions or if you find yourself looking for a new HTPC graphics card that packs a little bit of punch and all the connections you need.
What do TweakTown awards and ratings mean? Click!

Last updated: Apr 7, 2020 at 12:27 pm CDT

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

ABOUT THE AUTHOR -

Shawn takes care of all of our video card reviews. From 2009, Shawn is also taking care of our memory reviews, and from May 2011, Shawn also takes care of our CPU, chipset and motherboard reviews. As of December 2011, Shawn is based out of Taipei, Taiwan.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Go to top of the page