TRENDING NOW: AMD Radeon RX 6900 XT specs: Navi 21 GPU with 16GB could cost $499

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card

With our new X58 test bed in gear, it's time to fire up the pimped out HD 4870 X2 Revolution 700 from Palit.
@ShawnBakerTW
Published Tue, Dec 2 2008 11:00 PM CST   |   Updated Fri, Sep 18 2020 10:50 PM CDT
Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Palit

Introduction


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card



The HD 4800 series has been extremely popular for AMD over the past few months and as the time passes we've seen many companies make changes to the design to help them continue standing out.

The latest company to attack a HD 4800 series card is Palit and the particular model is the top dog from the ATI range, the HD 4870 X2. So, what has Palit done to the card to make it stand out from the rest?

Let's jump forward a page to see what Palit has done with the package before we have a closer look at the card itself. From there we will strap the card into our brand spanking new X58 test bed to see exactly what it's capable of. We're expecting big numbers from this beast.

The Package




Looking at a big box, there isn't really anything we haven't seen before from Palit. The middle of the box is mainly taken up with a picture of Frobot while the top of the box has a couple of logos.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Across the bottom of the box we have the model number; in this case the Revolution 700. The bottom right of the box has a sticker that gives us some more details on the card such as the fact it's a HD 4870 X2 and comes with 2GB of memory.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Turning the box over, we have some of the technical specifications of the card in a number of languages. Down the right hand side of the box we also have some of the key features of the Revolution 700 card along with the system requirements.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


In true Palit style there isn't a whole lot going on inside the package. Apart from the typical manual and driver CD we have a 6-pin to 8-pin connector alongside a HDMI to DVI adapter.

The Card




With the package out of the way it's time to get stuck into the card. Pulling it out of the box, you notice just how huge the card is. The biggest stand out point is of course the dual-fan configuration that Palit has opted for.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


With the cooler covering the whole card from top to bottom and left to right, there isn't a whole lot to see. We can see a sticker placed on top of the cooler to let you know that it's the Revolution 700 model and we can also see the Palit logo placed on both fans.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Looking around the card some more, we can see at the top we have a 6-pin and 8-pin power connector that is seen on all HD 4870 X2 models. Moving closer to the front we can see a single Crossfire connector which gives you the support to put two of these bad boys together.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Looking at the I/O side of things, Palit as always has done an excellent job of making the card stand out from the competition. Alongside our Dual-Link DVI connector we have a Display Port, HDMI port and standard VGA port. If you run dual DVI monitors, don't worry as you have to remember a HDMI to DVI adapter is included within the package as well. This is also where you see the massive foot print of the card which takes up a grand total of three slots. Running CrossfireX could prove to be a bit of a pain in some cases with two of these cards.


Specifications

While Palit has overclocked the card, they have decided to just push the memory unfortunately.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


As you can see, the core has the default clock of 750MHz, while the 2GB of GDDR5 memory has moved from 900MHz to 950MHz, making it a 3800MHz data rate effectively.

Test System Setup and 3DMark Vantage


Test System Setup

Processor(s): Intel i7 920 @ 3.8GHz (190MHz x 20)
Cooling: Noctua NH-U12P (Supplied by Noctua)
Motherboard(s): GIGABYTE EX58-UD5 (Supplied by GIGABYTE)
Memory: 3 X 2GB OCZ Technology PC-12800 DDR-3 8-8-8-24 (OCZ3G1600LV6GK)
Hard Disk(s): Western Digital 300GB Velicorapter (Supplied by Western Digital)
Operating System: Windows XP Professional SP2, Windows Vista SP1 64-Bit
Drivers: ATI Catalyst 8.11


Today we'll be testing Palit's pimped out HD 4870 X2 against the standard HD 4870 X2. Firing up our Core i7 test bed, let's get stuck into a new benchmark line-up which includes some of today's hottest games.


3DMark Vantage

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.1
Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com
Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/products/3dmarkvantage/
Buy It Here




3DMark Vantage is the new industry standard PC gaming performance benchmark from Futuremark, newly designed for Windows Vista and DirectX10. It includes two new graphics tests, two new CPU tests, several new feature tests, and support for the latest hardware.

3DMark Vantage is based on a completely new rendering engine, developed specifically to take full advantage of DirectX10, the new graphics API from Microsoft.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Straight off the line we can see the small increase in memory clock does very little for extra performance.

Benchmarks - PT Boats: Knights of the Sea


PT Boats: Knights of the Sea

Version and / or Patch Used: Benchmark Demo
Developer Homepage: http://en.akella.com/
Product Homepage: http://www.pt-boats.net/





PT Boats: Knights of the Sea is a naval action simulator that places gamers in charge of a mosquito fleet of the Allied Forces, Russia or Germany during the height of World War II.

Using the latest Direct X 10 technology PT Boards - Knights of the Sea manages to apply a lot of stress to the components of today which in turn gives us quite an intensive benchmark.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Across the board we can see that both HD 4870 X2s perform very close to each other with the extra memory MHz on offer from the Palit giving us no real gains.

Benchmarks - CINEBENCH R10


CINEBENCH R10

Version and / or Patch Used: Release 10
Developer Homepage: http://www.maxon.net/
Product Homepage: http://www.maxon.net




CINEBENCH is a real-world test suite that assesses your computer's performace capabilities. MAXON CINEBENCH is based on MAXON's award-winning animation software, CINEMA 4D, which is used extensively by studios and production houses worldwide for 3D content creation. MAXON software has been used in blockbuster movies such as Spider-Man, Star Wars, The Chronicles of Narnia and many more.

MAXON CINEBENCH runs several tests on your computer to measure the performance of the main processor and the graphics card under real world circumstances. The benchmark application makes use of up to 16 CPUs or CPU cores and is available for Windows (32-bit and 64-Bit) and Macintosh (PPC and Intel-based).


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Under CINEBENCH we see both cards performing very close to each other once again.

Benchmarks - World in Conflict


World in Conflict

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.5
Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Test
Developer Homepage: http://www.massive.se
Product Homepage: http://www.worldinconflict.com





World in Conflict is a real-time strategy video game by Massive Entertainment and to be published by Sierra Entertainment for Windows (DX9 and DX10) and the Xbox 360.

The game is set in 1989 where economic troubles cripple the Soviet Union and threaten to dissolve it. However, the title pursues a "what if" scenario where, in this case, the Soviet Union does not collapse and instead pursues a course of war to remain in power. It is an intensive new game is sure to put plenty of stress on even the latest graphics cards and we use the built-in benchmarking for our testing.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Across the board we don't see any real difference between the two cards; both cards score extremely close to each other.

Benchmarks - Crysis Warhead


Crysis Warhead

Version and / or Patch Used: unpatched
Timedemo or Level Used: Airfield
Developer Homepage: http://www.crytek.com
Product Homepage: http://crysiswarhead.ea.com/
Buy It Here




Crysis Warhead updates and refines the gameplay of the original game through a sidestory plot involving Psycho, one of previous protagonist Nomad's allies. The game is a parallel story that follows Sergeant Michael "Psycho" Sykes, a character from the original Crysis, as he faces his own trials and challenges on the other side of the island during the time period of the first game.

It also showcases a new, enhanced and optimized version of CryEngine 2 using full DX10 extensions and is the first game developed by Crytek's Budapest studio.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Crysis Warhead paints a similar picture to what we've seen all along with both cards scoring very close to each other. We can see at 1680 x 1050 the Palit offering is a little faster.

Benchmarks - Far Cry 2


Far Cry 2

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.01
Timedemo or Level Used: Ranch Long
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com/
Product Homepage: http://www.farcry2.com/
Buy It Here




The Dunia Engine was built specifically for Far Cry 2 by the award-winning Ubisoft Montreal development team. It delivers the most realistic destructible environments, amazing special effects such as dynamic fire propagation and storm effects, real-time night-and-day cycle, dynamic music system, non-scripted enemy A.I. and so much more.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


In the minimum department we can see that the Palit offering comes out a little in front at the lower and higher resolution, but like we've been seeing all along, it's nothing too exciting.

Benchmarks - S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky


S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.5.07
Timedemo or Level Used: Custom Timedemo
Developer Homepage: http://www.gsc-game.com/
Product Homepage: http://cs.stalker-game.com/en/
Buy It Here




S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky, is the stand-alone prequel for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, a first-person shooter computer game by Ukrainian developer GSC Game World.[3] The game consists of a roughly 50/50 mix of new areas and old, remodeled areas from the previous game. The X-ray graphics engine has been updated to version 1.5 and includes DirectX 10 support (later patch 1.5.06 included DirectX 10.1). Additionally, the AI received an overhaul to accommodate the new faction wars feature.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Like our other games here today, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. shows no difference worth noting between the two cards.

Benchmarks - Left 4 Dead


Left 4 Dead

Version and / or Patch Used: Latest Steam Update
Timedemo or Level Used: Custom Timedemo
Developer Homepage: http://www.valvesoftware.com/
Product Homepage: http://www.l4d.com/
Buy It Here




Left 4 Dead uses the latest version of Valve's Source engine, with improvements such as multi-core processor support and physics-based animation to more realistically portray hair and clothing, and to improve physics interaction with enemies when shot or shoved in different body parts. Animation was also improved to allow characters to lean realistically when moving in curved paths.

Rendering and artificial intelligence were scaled up to allow for greater number of enemies who can navigate the world in better ways, such as climbing, jumping or breaking obstacles. Lighting has been enhanced with new self-shadowing normal mapping and advanced shadow rendering that is important to convey information about the environment and player actions.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Left 4 Dead also shows both cards performing right on top of each other.

Benchmarks - High Quality AA and AF


High Quality AA and AF

Our high quality tests let us separate the men from the boys and the ladies from the girls. If the cards weren't struggling before they will start to now.


Far Cry 2

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


With AA turned on under FC2 we can see that the two cards continue to perform extremely close to each other.


World In Conflict

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


WIC paints the same picture with both cards scoring exactly the same here.


Left 4 Dead

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Left 4 Dead puts 2 FPS between the cards with the stock offering actually being the one slightly ahead.

Benchmarks - World in Conflict - XP


World in Conflict

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0.5
Timedemo or Level Used: Built-in Test
Developer Homepage: http://www.massive.se
Product Homepage: http://www.worldinconflict.com




World in Conflict is a real-time strategy video game by Massive Entertainment and to be published by Sierra Entertainment for Windows (DX9 and DX10) and the Xbox 360.

The game is set in 1989 where economic troubles cripple the Soviet Union and threaten to dissolve it. However, the title pursues a "what if" scenario where, in this case, the Soviet Union does not collapse and instead pursues a course of war to remain in power. It is an intensive new game is sure to put plenty of stress on even the latest graphics cards and we use the built-in benchmarking for our testing.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Under XP we can see WIC performance is a bit up and down; sometimes being better for the Palit while other times the stock offering just coming out ahead.

Benchmarks - Far Cry 2 - XP


Far Cry 2

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.01
Timedemo or Level Used: Ranch Long
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com/
Product Homepage: http://www.farcry2.com/
Buy It Here




The Dunia Engine was built specifically for Far Cry 2 by the award-winning Ubisoft Montreal development team. It delivers the most realistic destructible environments, amazing special effects such as dynamic fire propagation and storm effects, real-time night-and-day cycle, dynamic music system, non-scripted enemy A.I. and so much more.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


FC2 under XP shows both cards performing extremely close to each other, like we've seen elsewhere so far.

Benchmarks - S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky - XP


S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Clear Sky

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.5.07
Timedemo or Level Used: Custom Timedemo
Developer Homepage: http://www.gsc-game.com/
Product Homepage: http://cs.stalker-game.com/en/
Buy It Here




S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky, is the stand-alone prequel for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, a first-person shooter computer game by Ukrainian developer GSC Game World.[3] The game consists of a roughly 50/50 mix of new areas and old, remodeled areas from the previous game. The X-ray graphics engine has been updated to version 1.5 and includes DirectX 10 support (later patch 1.5.06 included DirectX 10.1). Additionally, the AI received an overhaul to accommodate the new faction wars feature.

Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Finally we leave with S.T.A.L.K.E.R. which actually shows the stock offering coming out ever so slightly ahead of the Palit here at up to 1920 x 1200. Again, though, it's nothing we haven't seen in our other game tests.

Temperature & Sound Tests


Temperature Tests



With the TES 1326 Infrared Thermometer literally in hand we found ourselves getting real-world temperatures from the products we test at load (3D clock speeds).

There are two places we pull temperature from - the back of the card directly behind the core and if the card is dual slot and has an exhaust point we also pull a temperate from there, as seen in the picture.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


Where the Revolution 700 shines is in the temperature department with the Celsius dropping away quite significantly compared to the stock cooler.


Sound Tests



Pulling out the TES 1350A Sound Level Meter we find ourselves quickly yelling into the top of it to see how loud we can be.

After five minutes of that we get a bit more serious and place the device two CM away from the fan on the card to find the maximum noise level of the card when idle (2D mode) and in load (3D mode).


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


The coolness of the GPU doesn't come at the cost of any extra dB either, with both cards putting out similar noise levels.

Power Consumption Tests






Using our new PROVA Power Analyzer WM-01 or "Power Thingy" as it has become quickly known as to our readers, we are now able to find out what kind of power is being used by our test system and the associated graphics cards installed. Keep in mind; it tests the complete system (minus LCD monitor, which is plugged directly into AC wall socket).

There are a few important notes to remember though; while our maximum power is taken in 3DMark06 at the same exact point, we have seen in particular tests the power being drawn as much as 10% more. We test at the exact same stage every time; therefore tests should be very consistent and accurate.

The other thing to remember is that our test system is bare minimum - only a 7,200RPM SATA-II single hard drive is used without CD ROM or many cooling fans.

So while the system might draw 400 watts in our test system, placing it into your own PC with a number of other items, the draw is going to be higher.


Palit Revolution 700 Deluxe HD 4870 X2 2GB Graphics Card


While at load we see both cards on par with each other, at idle the Palit does manage to suck a bit more juice.

Final Thoughts




The first thing we've got to say is the Palit Revolution 700 is a BIG card and while there is a Crossfire connector sitting up on top of that PCB, the chances are you're not going to be able to use it due to either there being not enough room on your motherboard, or your Crossfire connector not being long enough.

As for performance, well, there isn't a whole lot to say. The 50MHz bump in memory speed really does nothing for performance. The good news is, however, that the larger cooler, the better cooling and the lower temps at stock are going to make overclocking opportunities greater.

The other thing that Palit has got down to an art is increasing connectivity; out of the box the inclusion of everything from VGA to Display Port is fantastic. With a few monitor companies having Display Port on them now, it will be nice to be able to make use of that connectivity.

If you find yourself wanting a CrossfireX setup, we would avoid the Revolution 700 because the massive cooler is going to be a pain to work with. If you're looking for a single card HD 4870 X2 setup, though, this card has the goods. While it would have been nice to see Palit do a bit more with the clocks, these days it's so easy to overclock that it's not really a big deal.

What do TweakTown awards and ratings mean? Click!

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

Shawn takes care of all of our video card reviews. From 2009, Shawn is also taking care of our memory reviews, and from May 2011, Shawn also takes care of our CPU, chipset and motherboard reviews. As of December 2011, Shawn is based out of Taipei, Taiwan.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles