Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker queues: Devs apologize with free play time

Square Enix apologizes for Endwalker's world congestion & long queue times with free Final Fantasy XIV game time for all players.

@DeekeTweak
Published Mon, Dec 6 2021 12:32 PM CST   |   Updated Thu, Dec 30 2021 12:30 AM CST

Final Fantasy XIV's new Endwalker expansion is out now in early access, but gamers are having lots of trouble actually playing. Square Enix has offered up free game time as an apology.

Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker queues: Devs apologize with free play time 002 | TweakTown.com

Right now Final Fantasy XIV's game servers simply can't keep up with demand. Everyone wants to play the new Endwalker expansion and the online networks are just filling up too fast, leading to long login waiting queues and maxed-out worlds. The developers are now giving out 7 days of free game time as an apology to all subscribed users, and more time could be offered if the issues continue, the team says.

"Considering that we are asking players to wait in queues for extremely long periods of time and the ongoing situation making it difficult to play normally, we have decided that during the official release of Endwalker on December 7, we will be granting 7 days of free game time to all players who own the full version of the game and have an active subscription."

Read Also: Final Fantasy XIV's Endwalker sets new player record on Steam

Square Enix also explains what's leading to the Error 2002 code:

There are two primary causes.

The first occurs when attempting to log into a logical data center (such as Aether or Primal) and there are more than 17,000 players in the login queue. This leads to an Error 2002 occurring, resulting in being unable to enter the login queue.

The other occurs when your internet connection experiences packet loss or a period of network instability, causing the server connection to be momentarily disconnected. At the moment, we are seeing more cases caused by this.

If you're using Wi-Fi, the devs want you to switch to ethernet LAN connection to help stabilize your internet connection. They've also identified the peak login times for various regional data centers so you can plan your game time accordingly:

  • North American Data Center: 12:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (PST) / 20:00 to 6:00 (GMT)
  • European Data Center: 3:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. (PST) / 11:00 to 23:00 (GMT)
  • Japan Data Center: 1:00 a.m. to 7:00 a.m. (PST) / 9:00 to 15:00 (GMT)
Buy at Amazon

Final Fantasy XIV: Stormblood Complete Edition - PlayStation 4

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$103.99$103.99$64.88
* Prices last scanned on 1/24/2022 at 11:46 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Derek joined the TweakTown team in 2015 and has since reviewed and played 1000s of hours of new games. Derek is absorbed with the intersection of technology and gaming, and is always looking forward to new advancements. With over six years in games journalism under his belt, Derek aims to further engage the gaming sector while taking a peek under the tech that powers it. He hopes to one day explore the stars in No Man's Sky with the magic of VR.

Newsletter Subscription

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles