Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,426 Reviews & Articles | 64,560 News Posts

Verizon 4G LTE network will expand on May 17 to 28 new cities

Verizon to expand their 4G LTE coverage to 28 new cities and expand coverage in 11.

By Trace Hagan from May 16, 2012 @ 12:32 CDT

Verizon has announced plans to expand its LTE 4G service to 28 new cities along with expanding service in 11 cities. This new addition will bring the total tally for 4G coverage up to 258 cities, which covers half of the United States population. This is all part of a plan to bring 4G LTE to 400 cities in 49 states by the end of 2012. The switch will be flipped on May 17.


The newly added service areas will include:

Houma/Thibodaux and Lake Charles, Louisiana; Hyannis/Mid-Cape, Massachusetts; Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, Michigan; Biloxi/Gulfport/Pascagoula and Oxford, Mississippi; Atlantic City/Toms River, New Jersey; Dickinson and Williston, North Dakota; Ashtabula, Bucyrus and Defiance, Ohio; Eugene/Springfield, Oregon; Lancaster, New Castle, Northern Cambria County, Oil City/Franklin, Somerset and York, Pennsylvania; Myrtle Beach, South Carolina; Mitchell, South Dakota; Paris, Texas; Burlington/Northern, Vermontt; Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, Martinsville and Staunton/Waynesboro, Virginia; and Sheridan, Wyoming.

The network will be bolstered in:

Denver, Colorado; Dover, Delaware; Fort Myers and Lakeland, Florida; Hagerstown, Maryland; Canton, Lima, Mansfield, Toledo and Youngstown/Warren, Ohio; and Erie, Pennsylvania.


Related Tags