Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,494 Reviews & Articles | 65,523 News Posts

Toshiba BG4 NVMe SSD Review (Page 7)

By Chris Ramseyer from Aug 9, 2019 @ 9:52 CDT

Application Latency and Notebook Battery Life

SYSmark 2014 SE System Responsiveness Test

toshiba-bg4-nvme-ssd-review_018

We look favorably on any drive that scores over 1000 points in the System Responsiveness Test. This is part of the BAPCo SYSmark 2014 SE suite. The weighted scores use an OEM version of the Samsung 850 EVO for the base score of 1,000. The 850 EVO delivers strong system responsiveness, what makes your PC feel fast, even though it's an older model.

The 1TB BG4 outperforms the base score by an additional 10 points and manages to reach the middle point in the chart against drives we thought would deliver superior performance.

MobileMark 2012 Version 1.5

toshiba-bg4-nvme-ssd-review_019

The MobileMark 2012 notebook battery-life test will be slightly misleading in two ways. The first is our test system uses a Lenovo Y700-17 gaming notebook designed for high frames per second and not on the go battery life.

The other issue is one that can't don't have any control over. When a company, say Dell for this explanation, orders a drive like the BG4, the company has Toshiba build custom firmware. Dell may go back to Toshiba after testing the reference design (like the one we have today). The company can ask for a cap on random performance, or a change to how quickly the drive performs garbage collection after a data write. Both of these would increase notebook battery life without a noticeable impact to performance.

The overall picture becomes less clean when one system integrator, like Dell, ask for one change and another company, like Lenovo or HP, asks for something different.

Buy at Amazon

Toshiba Memory America THN-RC10Z2400G8

Today Yesterday 7 days ago 30 days ago
$81.46 $80.91 $84.60
Buy
* Prices last scanned on 11/18/2019 at 1:20 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, please click for very latest pricing
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags