TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,093 Reviews & Articles | 39,121 News Posts

Belkin OmniView Secure 4-Port Business-Class KVM Review

Belkin OmniView Secure 4-Port Business-Class KVM Review
Today Tyler looks at the new Belkin OmniView Secure 4-Port Business-Class KVM. If you're on the market for a serious KVM, take a look at his review.
| Accessories in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 31, 2014 2:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Belkin

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_99_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.png

 

Belkin is a market leader in SOHO and SMB solutions. From cables and adapters to enclosures and network switches, they have one of the most impressive portfolios in the industry. Today, we dig into that portfolio, and pull out a top KVM offering in the Belkin OmniView 4-port KVM.

 

The OmniView 4-port KVM is a business-class KVM switch featuring dual-link DVI with resolution support up to 2560 x 1600. In addition, it features USB connectivity for each port, along with audio in and out - and that's just the tip of the iceberg. In addition to large format display support, the Belkin OmniView is a secure switch solution certified to EAL4+ to prevent unintended data transfer between computers running on different security levels.

 

MSRP of the Belkin OmniView 4-Port KVM sits at $499.99 with a three-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_03_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the OmniView includes reading materials, and power cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_04_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

Above, we have our first look at the KVM. As you can see, the unit is housed in a metal chassis for top level durability. The front of the unit houses four buttons that are numbered and are accompanied by an amber LED to show which PC is active.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_05_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

The back of the KVM houses all the dual-link connections, along with USB ports for your keyboard and mouse. For those wanting audio, inputs are available for each PC.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_06_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

Internally, the KVM enjoys a great amount of build quality. All the solder joints are clean and the daughterboard seen above is laid out clean as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_08_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

The motherboard of the OmniView houses two ISL5400 switches that appear to control the DVI switching functionality on the KVM.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_09_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.jpg

 

Back to the daughterboard, we found four SMSC USB2504 Hubs that control the USB functionality for each port.

 

In the last few years, having multiple test systems in the lab, I always found myself content with using remote desktop to move between systems and test different products. With the commencing of building the fourth system in the TweakTown Consumer Storage and Networking lab, I found things were getting increasingly difficult to manage.

 

For one, running desktop operating systems on the machines had me using the command line to shut them down and then remembering IP addresses to remote in. This was the turning point and denoted it was time to start researching KVMs, but there was a single issue and anyone that owns a Qnix 2710LED Evolution II, like myself, you know what I'm talking about - the resolution and the lack of a scaler IC inside the monitor.

 

When searching KVMs, I came upon many that looked to fit the bill, but after reading into them, I found results were hit and miss. This led me to business-class KVMs and the Belkin F1DN104D. With my situation being addressed with the technology inside the OmniView KVM, I was pleasantly surprised to see it fire right up and my monitor kick in just a few seconds later.

 

The front mounted buttons allow quick switching between PCs and the amber LED behind each button aides in identifying what PC you are working with. When switching between PCs, it takes just a few seconds, and the monitor along with keyboard and mouse are switched over without constant driver reinstalls, and with the unit not having any sort of buffer, you get a constant stream of data from the PC you are working on and no issues making you restart the unit.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Belkin Omniview F1dn104d Kvm Switch for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Belkin Omniview F1dn104d Kvm Switch retails for $495.89 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Belkin Omniview F1dn104d Kvm Switch for CDN$598.65 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/6/6623_1234_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/6/6623_100_belkin_omniview_secure_4_port_business_class_kvm_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases