TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,074 Reviews & Articles | 39,007 News Posts

Kingwin EZ-Clone USI-2535CLU3 USB 3.0 Storage Adapter Review

Kingwin EZ-Clone USI-2535CLU3 USB 3.0 Storage Adapter Review
If you are in the market for a standalone IDE or SATA storage cloning solution, look no further, as we take a look at the EZ-Clone device from Kingwin.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Aug 22, 2014 6:19 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Kingwin

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_99_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.png

 

While many of the USB 3.0 storage solutions we have the chance to look at tend to serve a single purpose, some solutions make their way through the lab that have the capability to do more.

 

The Kingwin EZ-Clone is one such device with just those intentions. The EZ-Clone was designed to be more than your run of the mill USB adapter; therefore, the option is there to allow users to perform standalone disk cloning operations with ease.

 

Going back to the adapter functionality of the EZ-Clone, Kingwin has expanded this solution to include both SATA and IDE for those that still have data on legacy devices. With each of these connectivity options, you can choose to access your data through any one of the interfaces or clone data from SATA to SATA or IDE to SATA.

 

MSRP of the Kingwin EZ-Clone is listed at $39.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_02_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the Kingwin EZ-Clone includes a power adapter, USB 3.0 cable, along with an IDE adapter for connecting 2.5" legacy devices and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_03_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.jpg

 

The footprint of the EZ-Clone is quite small. Around the edges of the device, we have all the connectivity options while the top holds the clone button and activity indicators.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_04_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.jpg

 

The back of the EZ-Clone houses the power input and USB 3.0 connection. There is an additional IDE power output for use with the included 2.5" IDE adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_05_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.jpg

 

Above, we have connected two SSDs to the EZ-Clone to get an idea of the performance and course test the cloning functionality.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_10_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Performance of the EZ-Clone was quite good, in our testing with the SanDisk X110 SSD, we were able to reach 261 MB/s read and 251 MB/s write.

 

The Kingwin EZ-Clone is one of the most versatile devices I have had the chance to use in quite a long time. Whether you are looking to access data on legacy IDE devices, or clone that data to a new SATA SSD or hard drive, this solution has you covered.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_06_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.jpg

 

In speaking about the cloning function, we did take it for a test drive with our pair of SSDs and came away quite pleased with the results. In our image above, the SanDisk SSD has long held the operating system for our second test machine, and we desperately needed to clone this drive just to have a backup, in the case of a failure, at any point in the future.

 

The cloning process with the Kingwin, being rather simple, allows you to simply plug in your two devices to source and target and hold the clone button for a few seconds and the lights above denote the completion rate. At the end of our clone, which took around 30 minutes give or take, we installed the backup drive into the test system, which booted without any issues.

 

Overall performance of the EZ-Clone was quite admirable, we were able to touch 260 MB/s read and 250 M/B/s write in our CDM testing, and the clone procedure was rather painless, and took just 30 minutes to complete, with around 150 GB of data in queue.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Kingwin EZ-Clone for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Kingwin EZ-Clone retails for $34.97 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Kingwin EZ-Clone retails for CDN$39.99 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/6/6601_1234_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/6/6601_100_kingwin_ez_clone_usi_2535clu3_usb_3_0_storage_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases