TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,094 Reviews & Articles | 39,126 News Posts

D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug Review

D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug Review
Ever wanted to take remote control of one of your powered devices and also see power usage and more? D-Link Wi-Fi Smart Plug may be for you. (TPE:2332)
| Security & Automation in Networking | Posted: Aug 18, 2014 10:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: D-Link

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_99_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

D-Link over the past few months has emerged as a leader in providing home users with the means to setup and maintain their own connected home.

 

In addition, the recent launch of the Wi-Fi Motion Sensor, D-Link has paired it with the launch of the Wi-Fi Smart Plug. The Smart Plug allows the average user to turn devices on and off via their smartphone, along with creating schedules and monitoring power usage. A unique feature of the DSP-W215 is its ability to monitor the temperature of the plug to prevent your devices from overheating and causing a fire.

 

MSRP of the D-Link Wi-Fi Smart Plug is set at $49.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_02_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.jpg

 

The Smart Plug carries a small footprint; on the front of the unit, we have the receptacle and a LED that denotes status. Centered above the receptacle is a button to turn your device on or off manually.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_03_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.jpg

 

The back of the device houses the plug and regulatory information, along with your pin code for setup.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_04_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.jpg

 

The side of the Smart Plug houses the WPS button for quick setup.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_06_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

The Smart Plug has long setup process. To completely set it up to pair with the Wi-Fi Motion Sensor, you have to run through two apps, the first being the myD-Link Smart Plug app.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_07_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

To start setup, we plugged in the smart plug and waited for a few seconds while it booted up.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_08_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

After the LED begins flashing orange, you will find your Smart Plug on your network. From here, you can choose manual setup or use WPS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_09_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

After a few seconds, the plug should be found on your network.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_10_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

After the plug is found, you enter the pin code for secure setup.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_11_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

Finally, we are setting up a name for our Smart Plug.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_13_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

 

Lastly, all steps have been completed.

 

The DSP-W215 is a great companion to the DCH-S150 Motion Sensor. Pairing the two devices together can get you a lamp that turns on when it senses motion. If you decide to use the smart plug as an independent device, there are no limits on the types of devices you could control via your smartphone.

 

Additional features that I really enjoyed were the power meter built into the plug and app, so I could watch power usage of my devices. Though the app doesn't monitor in real-time, so you have refresh consistently.

 

One downfall of the Smart Plug, but something I have heard D-Link is fixing, is the way you have to use multiple apps to complete a full setup and pair the plug with the motion sensor.

 

Overall, I really enjoy the Smart Plug. As you may have saw in the review of the D-Link Motion Sensor, it's rather simple once you get both devices to setup and create events or create groups of devices that react to each other.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the D-Link DSP-W215 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The D-Link DSP-W215 retails for $49.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The D-Link DSP-W215 retails for CDN$74.57 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6590_1234_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6590_100_d_link_dsp_w215_wi_fi_smart_plug_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases