TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,138 News Posts

BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the Comrade

BitFenix Comrade Mid-Tower Chassis Review
We have also received the brother to the Neos chassis for review. Take a look at the more aesthetically simplistic Comrade case. Let's see what Chad says.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 6, 2014 2:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 84%Manufacturer: BitFenix

Inside the Comrade

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_14_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the bezel shows the bay covers are clipped in, and we also see that ventilation is restricted to the angled slits, and the hole at the bottom for removal access. The front of the chassis keeps the wiring attached, and there is also a large dust filter for the optional intake fans.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_15_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After taking the panels off of the chassis, we now have an unimpeded view of the interior. We find the wiring is left to simply flop about the interior during shipping, but the hardware and manual can be found under the lowest tray, in the HDD rack.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_16_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the I/O panel moved, we now can use all three of the 5.25" bays offered in the design of this chassis. All three bays offer tool-free mechanisms to lock devices in place, and can also be supported by screws on the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_17_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

For storage, we find two different cages, with three trays each. The upper 2.5" drive trays allows drives to be screwed in. The lower bays accommodate 3.5" hard drives, as the trays expand and shrink back together to hold them. We also found these trays to be drilled for 2.5" drives as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_18_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray does offer a wire management hole to the left of the CPU cooler access hole, and there are four more down the right side. The entire bottom is open. To mount the motherboard, you will use either the steel bumps, or for Micro-ATX boards, you willl need to install a few standoffs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_19_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis does not offer an optional cooling location in front of the PSU mounts. The back of the chassis has tabs to align the power supply, but there are also steel bumps on the floor to help raise the fan grill off the floor, and allow it to be mounted more easily.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_20_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

We find the only fan supplied in the chassis inside of the rear of the chassis. This is a low speed, low volume, three-pin powered 120mm fan. We cannot see the expansion slot mounting, as it is on the outside in order to give us just a bit more room on the interior.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_21_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is not a whole lot of room behind the motherboard tray for much of any wiring; most of that is contained at the bottom, or off to the left behind the bays.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6563_22_bitfenix_comrade_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

From the front I/O panel, we have the ribbon cable containing connections for the buttons, and LEDs. We also find an HD audio plug, a USB 2.0 plug, and a native USB 3.0 plug that needs to be connected to the motherboard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases