TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,128 News Posts

HIS IceQ R9 290X iPower Hybrid iTurbo 4GB OC'ed Video Card Review - Video Card Details and Specifications

HIS IceQ R9 290X iPower Hybrid iTurbo 4GB OC'ed Video Card Review
We got a sneak peak of it at Computex, but today we get to check out the hybrid water cooled HIS Radeon R9 290X 4GB video card. Let's take a look! (NYSE:AMD)
| AMD Radeon GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Jul 31, 2014 10:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: HIS Digital

Close up with the HIS IceQ R9 290X iPower Hybrid iTurbo 4GB

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_07_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the box and bundle and onto the card itself, you can see that the overall setup is of course quite different to any of the IceQ coolers we've seen in the past thanks to the addition of the radiator.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_08_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the radiator first, you can see that we've got a single 120mm fan setup with a small reservoir sitting at the bottom with two tubes coming out of it. Here we can also see a single Molex connector that runs from the actual video card, along with another cables that is plugged into one of the power sources on the card itself.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_09_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the other half of the card, you can see that we've got a single fan on the right side of the card with a large shroud going under the top. Under the shroud, we find the water block, which also has the pump that helps push the water throughout the radiator. While the fan will assist in the cooling of the core, the main thing it does here is cool the components around the core, including the memory.

 

Since the water block concentrates on the GPU core, the fan combined with heat sinks is able to keep the other areas cool. The overall design isn't unusual, and we've seen similar setups before.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_10_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_11_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking a look around the rest of the card, you can see that power has been upgraded with the use of two 8-Pin PCIe power connectors, instead of the standard single 6-Pin and 8-Pin PCIe setup that reference cards see. Staying across the top, but moving closer to the front, you can see we've got a typical setup here with the BIOS switch and no CrossFire connectors, due to the fact that they're not required on the R9 290 series.

 

For a card like this, the chances are you wouldn't move past a CrossFire setup of two cards, though, due to the fact that every card needs a spot for the radiator. Moving past two is going to become quite an interesting task, especially if you opted for a 120mm or 2x 120mm AIO water cooling solution on your CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_12_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.jpg

 

Finishing up with the I/O side of things, you can see we've got the standard R9 290X setup, which sees two Dual-Link DVI-D connectors, along with a HDMI and DisplayPort connector. Personally speaking, I would've loved to have seen HIS opt for the setup that drops one of the Dual-Link DVI ports and swaps the full size DisplayPort connector out for two Mini DisplayPort connectors.

 

 

Specifications

 

As you'd expect, HIS has taken the time to overclock the IceQ R9 290X iPower Hybrid iTurbo 4GB. Out of the box, a reference card that is clocked at reference speeds, will see a core clock of 1000MHz, while the 4GB of GDDR5 will come in at 1250MHz or 5000MHz QDR.

 

Out of the box, HIS has pushed the core up to a nice round 1100MHz, and also chosen to attack the memory with a really strong 1500MHz or 6000MHz QDR. This is a really strong overclock out of the box and is going to bring with it a nice performance boost. Of course, we're not so interested in the out of the box clocks - instead, we want to see just what kind of performance we're able to get ourselves.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6555_01_his_iceq_r9_290x_ipower_hybrid_iturbo_4gb_oc_ed_video_card_review.png

 

Getting into the overclocking side of things, we find ourselves bumping the clocks up and running 3DMark to see at what point the system is no longer stable. Looking above, you can see that we pushed the core up to 1160MHz, which is 160MHz up on the reference clock speed AMD offer. As for the 4GB of GDDR4, that is pushed up to 1675MHz which translates to 6700MHz QDR, a massive 1700MHz QDR up on the reference clock.

 

These are some impressive numbers and should bring with it an excellent performance boost. As for how these compare, the recently looked at HIS R9 280X iPower IceQ X2 Turbo 4GB managed to achieve 1100MHz on the core and 5700MHz QDR on the memory.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases