TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

Zalman Knossos ZM-GM4 Professional Laser Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Knossos ZM-GM4

Zalman Knossos ZM-GM4 Professional Laser Gaming Mouse Review
Not only is the name of this product long, but so is its list of features and specifications. Join us for a look at Zalman's Knossos gaming mouse.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 30, 2014 6:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Zalman

Inside the Knossos ZM-GM4

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_19_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

We would strongly suggest that you do not attempt to open this mouse; there is much more involved than just pulling a few screws to clean it out.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_20_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Inside of the last panel of the ZM-GM4, we found a PCB containing two pad switches to back the page forward and page back buttons. Off to the left is a slider style switch that adds a stiff feel to the "function" button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_21_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After carefully lifting the main PCB out of the frame, we get a much better view of the left-click switch. We found it to be backed by the five million click versions of the Omron D2FC-F7N switches, which offer a softer feel with an audible click.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_22_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

In the center we have the Avago ADNS A9800 laser sensor as the heart of the system. This top-tier sensor has been proven time and time again to be issue free with the right firmware, and will give you more DPI than you will know what to do with. The switch off to the left is the "auto" button's pad switch.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_23_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

If the laser sensor is the heart, then the Freescale MC9S08JM16 MCU used in this system is definitely the brains. This is where all the signals pass through to be processed and sent out though the USB 2.0 end of this IC.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_24_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As we spin around to the other side of the scroll wheel, we find a matching Omron switch under the right-click button, also offering a five million click lifespan.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_25_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After a fair bit of reassembly, we now have the Knossos ZM-GM4 back in once piece, and powered up. The LEDs to the left of the scroll wheel denote we have the DPI in setting one of four. Also, just behind where the cable enters the mouse, there is a slim panel in the nickel plated section that will also glow with a blue LED, but only when the mouse is in motion.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases