TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,070 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Zalman Knossos ZM-GM4 Professional Laser Gaming Mouse Review - Zalman Knossos ZM-GM4 Professional Laser Gaming Mouse

Zalman Knossos ZM-GM4 Professional Laser Gaming Mouse Review
Not only is the name of this product long, but so is its list of features and specifications. Join us for a look at Zalman's Knossos gaming mouse.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 30, 2014 6:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Zalman

Zalman Knossos ZM-GM Professional Laser Gaming Mouse

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_07_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Starting with a look at the left side of the ZM-GM4, we can see there is a lot going on. Across the top edge, there is the nickel plated "auto," or a double-click button, and to the right of that there are black page forward and page back buttons. Below those, there is a "function" button to open a browser, and just to the right of that there is a screw head that, as the paint implies, offers width control for this side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_08_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Looking at it from the back, you can more easily see the ledges to the sides that are cut away in the middle, which give this mouse a much wider footprint for stability. Amongst the textured plastic, we can also see there is more nickel plating down the center, surrounding the length adjustment screw, and in the metal section of the base. Lastly, you can see just the head of the onboard tool that makes those adjustments.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_09_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right side is much more simplistic. Here we find the side is separated just like at the left, and just after the ZM-GM4 naming, we find the last screw that will allow this side to expand outward for the last bit of the customizable fit this mouse offers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_10_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Staring down the front of the ZM-GM4, we can see that the nickel trim we saw at the back runs from front to back, separating the halves of the mouse. The buttons are ever so slightly longer than the base of the mouse, and there is a large, chunky support around the entry to the braided USB 2.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_11_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit to get the top in full view, we see things like the rubberized scroll wheel for extra grip, and a LED in front of the wheel that illuminates when in motion. Behind that is a button for DPI selection; the DPI is illuminated with levels indicating one through four. Lastly, we can see the tinted window over the weighting system.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_12_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

At this point we have removed the 3/32 Allen wrench from the heel of the mouse; then, by unscrewing all three screws, we can now see the Knossos in her full-sized form. We did find the tool to be handy, but it is tough to use because it is so short, and the odd handle that runs through the head of it does not help much either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_13_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

That same wrench will also unscrew the cover for access to the adjustable weights. Under the cover is where six gold, hexagonally shaped, 3.5 gram weights are stored. This will allow users to play with the weighting, and even offset the weight to one side or the other, or front to back for that matter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_14_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The blue and black braided covering is a nice change of pace, and it also matches the LEDs under the DPI notification, and the light at the front. At the end of this 1.8 meter cable, we find a stylized cover on the gold plated connection. We also get a Velcro tie strap to help maintain the wiring for transit, or at the desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6546_15_zalman_knossos_zm_gm4_professional_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As we look under the mouse, we find the sensor pushed to the front edge of this design. To allow this eye to slide easily around on the pad it is tracking, Zalman uses a combination of five different sized feet around the outside of the form.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases