TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,454 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Lenovo ThinkPad W540 Mobile Workstation Laptop Review - Accessory Port Layout and Upgrading

Lenovo ThinkPad W540 Mobile Workstation Laptop Review
Lenovo's ThinkPad W540 mobile workstation fills the needs of professionals and high-end users that has plenty of power. Check out William's full review. (HKG:0992)
| Standard Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Jul 25, 2014 10:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: Lenovo

Accessory Port Layout and Upgrading

 

The Lenovo ThinkPad W540 mobile workstation has several IO ports on the unit for IO needs. Let's take a look at what options we have available to us.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_52_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Here we are looking at the right side of the Lenovo ThinkPad W540.

 

On the left, we have a DVD drive-sorry, no Blu-ray drive here for movies. The access port just above that is empty on our unit. Just to the right of the DVD drive are USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 connections. The little port near the rear of the workstation is a Kensington Lock.

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_53_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Now looking at the left side, we find a large cooling vent followed by a Thunderbolt port, VGA output, USB 2.0, USB 3.0, card reader, ExpressCard/34, and a combined stereo jack.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_54_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

At the rear of the Lenovo ThinkPad W540, on the left, there is an RJ45 LAN port then the battery. Following that, we have the AC power connection and another cooling vent.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_55_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Looking at the bottom of the W540, we find two large access covers and several vents. There are four rubber feet for the W540 to rest on, providing a non-slip surface to keep the laptop from sliding around on your desk.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_56_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

The shape of the rear of the battery is contoured to the W540 outside. A round bulge matches the W540 and allows for a gripping surface for when you need to install or replace the battery. The battery just slides right in and locks. Just behind the battery are two unlocking levers that, when pulled left and right, unlock the battery for removal.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_57_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Here we have removed the top left access cover to peek at the insides. We can see the laptop's motherboard battery and Intel's Wireless-N 7260 WLAN module.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_58_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Removing the large access cover, we find the SSD drive and RAM slots. Two RAM bays have two RAM slots in each. Our unit had only one 8GB stick of RAM installed; this leaves the unit upgradeable to four 8GB sticks for a max RAM load out of 32GB.

 

The SSD installed in this unit is a Samsung MZ7TE256HMHP-000 SCSI disk device.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases