TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,406 News Posts

Lenovo ThinkPad W540 Mobile Workstation Laptop Review - Bundled Software

Lenovo ThinkPad W540 Mobile Workstation Laptop Review
Lenovo's ThinkPad W540 mobile workstation fills the needs of professionals and high-end users that has plenty of power. Check out William's full review. (HKG:0992)
| Standard Laptops in Laptops | Posted: Jul 25, 2014 10:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: Lenovo

Software

 

The first thing that many people do is take a look at the bundled software that comes pre-installed on the laptop they purchase and start uninstalling the bulk of it. On many of the laptops we have used in the past, there is a fair amount of junk stuff. Much of that is only a trial and software that we are not interested in using.

 

In the case of the W540, we did not find any junk apps, but we did find apps that you should take a careful look at to decide if you want to keep them. Here is the pre-installed software that we had installed on this W540:

 

  • Lenovo QuickCast
  • Lenovo QuickControl
  • Lenovo QuickDisplay
  • Lenovo SHAREit
  • Lenovo ThinkVantage
  • Lenovo ThinkVantage Tools
  • Lenovo Solution Center
  • Evernote
  • Microsoft Office 365
  • Norton Anti-Virus
  • PowerDVD
  • Nitro Pro 8

 

For our use, we would have no need for Evernote or Nitro Pro 8. We use Microsoft Office 2013 Pro, so we have no need for Microsoft Office 365. We also use Kaspersky for our Anti-Virus needs. These would be our choices to uninstall.

 

This is our personal preference; these are fine products, and it is up to your personal preference if you wish to keep those. PowerDVD is necessary to have on the W540, so it will stay. On the other hand, we found the Lenovo software very useful, so let us look at what Lenovo has done to make managing the W540 easier for us.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_15_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Down at the bottom right hand side of the task bar, you will find a red icon with white cross like the red logo at the top of this picture. Click on this to bring up the Lenovo Solution Center, which will be your home for controlling the W540.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_16_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Here we see the home screen for the Lenovo Solution Center. At first startup, yours should look something like this. It tells you that you need to get anti-virus software, do a hardware scan, register your W540, and complete a backup.

 

We advise you to do a complete backup at this time.

 

Our backup took maybe 20 minutes and used four DVDs to complete, but we are all set in case we should suffer from something going bad.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_17_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Next down the list is the System menu. This shows all information about the W540. Simply click on each icon to bring up status windows that we will show next.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_18_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

The first Icon is Storage Devices. We only have a 256 GB SSD installed, so that is the only item showing up here. You can do many functions here like Disk Cleanup, optimize performance, and get properties of the SSD. Clicking more storage will bring up a Shop Lenovo web page to order additional storage drives.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_19_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Next up is the Memory Icon. This shows you how many slots the W540 has, and which ones have a RAM stick installed. You can see the current amount of memory installed. The maximum capacity for the W540 is 32GB. Optimizing performance will simply tell you to close some programs. Clicking get more memory will bring up a Lenovo web page to order additional memory.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_20_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Next is the Backup Icon. Here you can launch Lenovo Rescue and Recovery to make a complete backup of your system. Just like before, clicking get more storage will bring up a web page to order additional storage. If you use another backup tool like Acronis for example, click the use another tool to get started with that.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_21_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Recovery media will get you started doing a backup restore that you created in the step before this. Use another tool will get you started with another program, such as Acronis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_22_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Software updates will update Lenovo software and Windows updates. Windows update should be taken care of just fine in your Windows update program. This is located here so all update features are located in one place.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_23_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Here we look at the Battery menu. Clicking the Power Manager will bring up the next screen.

 

This is useful for when you are working with the W540 plugged into a wall outlet; you can quickly set this to use full power settings. Then, when needed, you can quickly select lower power options for when you are running on battery power. Clicking buy battery will bring up a web page to order additional batteries for the W540.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_24_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Here we see the power manager. The top has a slider to adjust energy saving needs, from full power to high-energy savings when on the go.

 

When you are on the go, clicking battery stretch will help you get the most out of your battery life. Intel Turbo Boost will spin the fans up to 100 percent for added cooling when working with heavy software loads.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_25_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

The system information will bring up all the system details about your W540.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_26_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

The Security menu will allow you to set passwords for the W540, turn on the firewall, and check virus protection and internet connection security settings. Clicking the Fingerprint Icon will get you started in setting up your W540 so that it will require you to swipe your finger in the sensor to unlock the laptop.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_27_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Check-up allows you to do a hardware scan, check the device manager, and take backup snap shots. This is useful to diagnose hardware issues or check that you have the latest drivers installed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_28_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

The Support menu allows you to connect to online support and check your warranty status. You can check your configuration history and register your W540. That about covers Lenovo Solution Center, but there are several other Lenovo apps to look at next.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_29_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

To find the next set of apps, go to the Start Button->All Programs->Lenovo. If you have other Lenovo devices such as a tablet or other laptops, using QuickCast will make it easy to transfer data from one machine to another. All devices must have QuickCast installed for this to function.

 

Find devices will bring up a list of possible devices that you can share data between. Once you have a device selected, browse for the files you want to transfer in the right-hand window and click transfer.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_30_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

QuickControl will allow you to control your computer through a smartphone. You can use this with an Android app that is available from the Google Play Store. This could be useful if you are doing an on-site presentation and you do not have the ability to sit at the W540.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_31_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

QuickDisplay allows you to connect to a wireless-enabled display. Several options allow you to show the PC screen only, duplicate the screen, extend the current screen, or allow a second screen. Again, this is very useful when on-site and doing a presentation or if you wish to see your display on a larger screen.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_32_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Rescue and Recovery is very much like the one we saw in Lenovo Solution Center. It is very easy to do full backups or a snapshot of the current system. Additionally, you will find Lenovo SHAREit in the Start Button->All Programs->Lenovo. SHAREit allows you to store files in Lenovo's cloud for easy access wherever you go.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_33_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

In your control panel or under the Start Button->All Programs, you will find Lenovo ThinkVantage Tools. This is like Lenovo Solution Center, but with added features such as Airbag Protection, Web Conferencing, and messages from Lenovo.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6539_34_lenovo_thinkpad_w540_mobile_workstation_laptop_review.jpg

 

Clicking the Airbag button brings up this screen. The Active Protection System can detect sudden changes in motion and temporarily stop the hard drive to help protect your valuable data from some crashes that could occur due to everyday notebook accidents.

 

The system has an integrated motion sensor that continuously monitors the movement of the notebook, and if a sudden change in motion is detected, it temporarily stops the hard drive to protect it from a potential crash.

 

We do not have an HDD installed in our W540 to be protected by this. However, if you plan to upgrade to additional HDD space, this becomes a nice feature to have. We did have a W530 fall off of our server rack one time. The unit did detect this and shut everything down before it hit the floor. It was a simple restart to bring the unit back alive, and everything was fine.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases