TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog Flight Stick Review - TARGET GUI and TARGET Script Editor

Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog Flight Stick Review
Thrustmaster has built a top notch flight stick called the HOTAS Warthog. Let us take a look at this flight stick, and see how well it performs.
| Game Controllers in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 25, 2014 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Thrustmaster

TARGET GUI

 

The T.A.R.G.E.T. GUI software allows you to program all of the buttons on the Warthog, and run your applications right from this GUI.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_35_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

This is the home screen for T.A.R.G.E.T. GUI.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_36_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

On the Home screen, if you click the "Stock" button, you will see a list of preconfigured setups for the games listed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_37_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

We will click the first stock configuration for DCS Blackhawk.fcf to see how to change button settings. At the top of the screen, click the Edit Configuration button.

 

This shows possible devices that could be connected to your system; you may not have all of these connected. As you can see, we have the Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog Joystick, which starts with a green box and a check mark inside it. Go down to the far bottom right, and click next.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_38_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

What we see next is adjustment options for the Joystick X & Y axis. Here you can adjust dead zones and response curves to configure the stick to your personal preferences.

 

We did not change anything here, and moved on to the next screen by pressing next at the lower right side of the screen.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_39_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

This is the meat and potatoes of the T.A.R.G.E.T. GUI software. Here you can assign buttons to whatever you wish. You can rotate the picture of the stick around to select any button that you wish to edit. Each button can be programmed with an event name, so you can easily find what that button's function is. Give it a key command, which can be a keyboard button, and then assign other features to that event.

 

Not every game or flight simulator has preconfigured setups for the Warthog, so generally speaking, you will need to edit configurations to match the game, or your personal preferences. This can get rather cumbersome, because many flight simulators have a large number of keyboard short cuts that can be assigned to buttons.

 

It's best to have the keyboard layouts printed out and sitting next to you while assigning these, then be sure to test them out before using them.

 

 

TARGET Script Editor

 

The T.A.R.G.E.T. Script Editor allows you to look at HTML code that assigns buttons to key presses. Depending on what system you use, this can come in very handy in modifying your configuration files.

 

We did not get too deep into this yet, as it can get fairly complex.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_40_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Here we see the home screen for the T.A.R.G.E.T. Script Editor.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_41_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Clicking the Options button brings up the list of options that can be changed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_42_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Clicking the Event Tester button allows you to test your keyboard, and see delays for each key you press.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_43_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Clicking the Device Analyzer button brings up the Warthog layout. Here you can test all of the buttons on the joystick itself.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_44_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Clicking on the Menu button brings up this screen; here you can open, save, and print your configuration files.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6533_45_thrustmaster_hotas_warthog_flight_stick_review.jpg

 

Here you can see we loaded up our Star Citizen Configuration file, and it was then displayed in HTML. We can edit it here as we wish.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases