TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,085 News Posts

Vantec NexStar TX 2.5-inch USB 3.0 External Storage Enclosure Review

Vantec NexStar TX 2.5-inch USB 3.0 External Storage Enclosure Review

Today Tyler spends some time giving us a detailed look at the Vantec NexStar TX, an external storage enclosure for your shiny new HDD or SSD.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: 1 week, 4 days ago
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_99_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Over the past few months, I have been thoroughly impressed by the revamping of product lines from Vantec.

 

Today, we have yet another product coming through the lab, this time a 2.5-inch enclosure for those wanting to build their own storage solution. The NexStar TX features UASP technology for the very best in USB 3.0 capabilities along with an aluminium design to enhance the durability of your storage. Compatibility of the enclosure extends to modern Windows operating systems and OS X 10.6+.

 

MSRP of the Vantec NexStar TX is listed at $19.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_02_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the NexStar TX offers detail on the enclosure at the bottom left and an image of the enclosure to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_03_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging offers information in several languages.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_04_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes a carrying pouch for the drive, screwdriver, USB 3.0 cable, and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_05_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

In our first look at the NexStar TX, we find it quite similar to the NexStar 6G reviewed a few months back.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_06_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The plastic cover on the end of the enclosure supports the PCB. Vantec is using the latest ASMedia controller on this solution.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_10_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

To check the performance of the enclosure, we installed a Samsung 840 Pro. As you can see, we were able to max out USB 3.0 on our test system. Results came in at 433 MB/s read and 170 MB/s write.

 

The Vantec NexStar TX is a great enclosure for those wanting a quick option for building their own solution. Whether you have a spare SSD or HDD, you don't have to worry about z-height restraints since the TX supports them all. Build quality of the TX was on par with expectation; the aluminium structure of the enclosure feels like it could take some punishment over its lifetime.

 

Performance of the enclosure was great for read operations but fell off for some reason during write testing. This may have something to do with the controller used in the device, as our SSD had just undergone a fresh secure erase.

 

MSRP of the Vantec NexStar TX sits at $19.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Vantec NexStar TX for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Vantec NexStar TX retails for $19.58 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Vantec NexStar TX retails for CDN$16.98 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6508_1234_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6508_100_vantec_nexstar_tx_2_5_inch_usb_3_0_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases