TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,564 News Posts

Lexar JumpDrive S33 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Lexar JumpDrive S33 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
The S33 hits the lab. Read on as we test this new USB 3.0 flash pen drive solution from Lexar and see how it performs and if it's worth buying or not. (NASDAQ:MU)
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Jul 9, 2014 6:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%Manufacturer: Lexar

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_99_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

In addition to the S23 we reviewed recently, Lexar has added another flash storage solution to their portfolio.

 

The Lexar S33 carries the same colorful characteristics as the previous S23 and the same capacity options of 8GB to 128GB. Marketing for the 32GB model we have in-house claims 100 MB/s read and 55 MB/s write. Compatibility of the S33 extends to modern Windows operating systems and OS X.

 

MSRP of the Lexar S33 in the 32GB flavor is listed at $49.99 with a three-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_02_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the S33 houses the drive in the center with marketing information to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_03_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging does give a little information on the S33.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_04_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Lexar S33 carries a similar small footprint to the S23.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_05_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

As you can see above, the Lexar S33 uses a hinged design.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_10_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Lexar S33 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.8GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_11_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

CrystalDiskMark results for the S33 came in at 114 MB/s read and 37 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_12_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Price/Performance put the Lexar S33 just above the recently reviewed S23 at 55 percent.

 

The Lexar S33 is a unique flash drive and one of only a few I have seen to use the hinged design. The build quality seems to be quite good, and all of the materials seem to have minimal tolerances.

 

Performance of the Lexar S33 is ample, with 114 MB/s read and 37 MB/s write. However, with the current MSRP being set at $49.99 for the tested 32GB model, I feel it may be too much for the performance included.

 

Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Lexar S33 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Lexar S33 (32GB) retails for $26.18 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Lexar S33 (32GB) retails for CDN$19.99 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6500_1234_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6500_100_lexar_jumpdrive_s33_32gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases