TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

SanDisk Extreme Pro 32GB SDHC UHS II Memory Card Review

SanDisk Extreme Pro 32GB SDHC UHS II Memory Card Review

We take a look at the Extreme Pro from SanDisk, the first UHS II card to come through the lab. Read on as Tyler tells us all about it and how it performs. (NASDAQ:SNDK)

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Jul 8, 2014 6:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_99_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

 

With a lot of the hype surrounding the new U3 specification of SD cards, SanDisk slipped in under the radar with its latest solution.

 

The SanDisk Extreme Pro carries quite a performance boost for enthusiast photographers and videographers. This new card introduces the UHS II specification to the market, offering up to 280 MB/s read speeds, which is equivalent to 1867x. Of course, this new technology also requires a new card reader to get the most out of it, so SanDisk has taken the extra step to introduce the SDDR-329 UHS II card reader along with it.

 

MSRP for the 32GB SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II card is set at $129.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_02_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The packaging for the Extreme Pro carries a bold 280 MB/s to the right, enough to stand out on store shelves. Front and center, we have the card itself.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_03_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging carries a few more details about the card, along with the Rescue Pro offer at the top right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_04_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Here we have the card and the new UHS II reader. Notice the card carries both the UHS II logo and the UHS Speed Class 3 designation.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_10_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

 

The SanDisk Extreme Pro is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.4GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_11_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In the previous image at the end of the last column, we have our results from testing the card with a standard USB 3.0 card reader. As you can see, we reached 47 MB/s read and 45 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_12_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

 

We installed the new SDDR-329 UHS II card reader and gave the drive another spin. As you can see, we gained quite a bit of performance, reaching 241 MB/s read and 203 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_13_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

 

Due to the relatively young age of the technology, the SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II card didn't fare too well in Price/Performance. As time progresses, this card should make its way up the chart.

 

The SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II memory card is quite certainly the quickest SD solution we have ever tested. In fact, it might be the quickest memory card we have seen. The build quality is great, as expected, and no issues were seen during testing.

 

Performance of the card was quite surprising to say the least. 240 MB/s is certainly nothing to sneeze at, especially for enthusiasts that can put this new technology to work. Price/Performance didn't show the strong point of the Extreme Pro, but as I said, it should start moving up as the technology moves into the market.

 

MSRP of the SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II in the 32GB capacity is set at $129.99 with a lifetime warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS II retails for $124.95 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6497_1234_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6497_100_sandisk_extreme_pro_32gb_sdhc_uhs_ii_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases