TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,094 News Posts

Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD Review - The New Performance King - Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD

Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD Review - The New Performance King

Utilizing the most advanced NAND structure to date, the Samsung 850 Pro takes SATA past the Extreme. Today Chris gives us his full thoughts in this review. (KRX:005930)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 1, 2014 2:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_05_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The 850 Pro packages are a bit more menacing than the previous models.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_06_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The back of the proposed retail package shows the performance specifications, something we really like for retail shoppers. A list of features and the warranty information is also on the back. We call this the proposed package because sometime after SanDisk launched the Extreme Pro and my writing this review, the warranty moved from 5 years to 10.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_07_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The 850 Pro we received is a bare drive model with the SSD, two paper booklets and two stickers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_08_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. The square at the bottom now has a reddish tint to it while the older models were orange.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_09_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The model number, serial number and capacity size information is on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_10_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The 850 Pro is a 7mm z-height SSD so it fits in the growing number of Ultrabooks on the market.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_11_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_12_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

Inside we found a very small PCB inside the 2.5" drive case. Samsung is able to reduce the total manufacturing cost by shrinking the design. The 128GB model uses an even smaller PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_13_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The overall design is actually very simple and cost effective.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_14_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

Samsung used the 3-core MEX controller on 850 Pro, the same used in the EVO products.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_15_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

The 1TB model we're looking at here has a 1GB LPDDR2 DRAM buffer.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_16_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

Since the 850 Pro uses the same controller as the 840 EVO, the NAND flash is the main difference, along with the controller programming. This is our first real up close look at Samsung's new 3D V-NAND. On the surface it really doesn't look much different than 2D planar NAND that we've used since the first consumer SSDs hit the market.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6478_17_samsung_850_pro_1tb_ssd_review_the_new_performance_king.jpg

 

Samsung used eight flash packages to get to the 1TB capacity size on the 850 Pro 2.5" drive.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases