TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,139 News Posts

SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD Review - SanDisk Extreme PRO SSD

SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD Review
The Extreme PRO only goes down to 240GB, but it tops our chart as the fastest consumer SSD you can buy today. Check out Chris' full review of this new SSD.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 28, 2014 7:40 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: SanDisk

SanDisk Extreme PRO SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_03_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

In order to get the first shot at testing the Extreme PRO, we received all three capacity sizes in bare drive form, without the retail package. The retail package does include a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_04_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Extreme PRO styling dates back to the original Extreme SSD. The label on the back of the drive gives us the model number, capacity size, and serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_05_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_06_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_07_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Extreme PRO uses the same Marvell 88SS9187 controller found in the Extreme II, but the clock frequency has increased from the previous generation. SanDisk made sure to keep the internal components cool by using the case as a heat sink.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_08_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_09_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The controller and DRAM have epoxy that keeps the components firmly planted to the PCB. We rarely see this on consumer SSDs. Every military grade SSD we've seen uses epoxy, though.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_10_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are eight NAND flash packages on the Extreme PRO 240GB SSD. These are SanDisk's latest 1Ynm Toggle flash with 64Gb die capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6471_11_sandisk_extreme_pro_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the surface-mount components are on the same side, and that leaves the back blank.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases