TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,010 Reviews & Articles | 38,770 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Vantec UGT-AH700U3 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub Review

Vantec UGT-AH700U3 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub Review
Need more USB 3.0 ports with smart charging capabilities? Then read on as we take a look at the seven-port solution from Vantec.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Jun 27, 2014 2:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_99_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

 

In our last two USB hub reviews, we had the chance to look at a few of the latest products from Vantec. As you know, and I have stated before, Vantec has really put an intense amount of effort into revamping their product lines, and offering higher quality solutions for their consumers.

 

Today, we have the last of the three new USB 3.0 hubs from Vantec in-house, the seven-port hub with smart charging functions. This solution offers seven ports of USB 3.0, along with two more for charging your devices. The device is fully powered like previous solutions we have reviewed from Vantec, and is fully compatible with all devices with a USB port.

 

MSRP for the Vantec Seven-Port USB 3.0 Hub is set at $58.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_02_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the seven-port solution offers an image of the device to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_03_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes the hub, power adapter, and USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_04_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Here we take our first look at the Vantec hub. As you can see, the design follows closely to the four-port solution we reviewed recently. We have LEDs for each port, and smart charging ports below.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_05_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

The seven-port solution carries the same dimensions as the ten-port solution due to the additional space needed for the smart charging.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_06_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

The end of the hub houses the USB 3.0 input, and the power connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_10_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

 

Performance of the hub was tested with a Samsung 840 Pro SSD plugged into the last port of the hub. As we have seen in previous reviews of Vantec hubs, performance is top notch. Again we reached the peak of USB 3.0 capabilities.

 

The Vantec Seven-Port USB 3.0 Hub is a great solution for those where the four-port isn't enough. Whether you need more USB 3.0 ports, or want a hub with a large amount of ports and charging capabilities, the seven-port offers both in one package.

 

Performance of the UGT-AH700U3 was exceptional; we found the device offering top-notch USB 3.0 speeds to our Samsung 840 Pro. In our testing we were able to reach 440 MB/s read, and 435 MB/s write.

 

MSRP of the Vantec Seven-Port USB 3.0 Hub is set at $58.99, with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the VANTEC UGT-AH700U3 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The VANTEC UGT-AH700U3 retails for $50.24 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6458_1234_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6458_100_vantec_ugt_ah700u3_7_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases