TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,428 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Vantec UGT-AH400U3 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub Review

Vantec UGT-AH400U3 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub Review
Looking for a USB 3.0 hub with charging capabilities? Tyler gives us his thoughts on a new solution from Vantec that may suit your needs.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Jun 26, 2014 2:10 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_99_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

 

As of late, Vantec has been revamping their product line-ups, and their brand. In the past few months we have seen a higher attention to detail, and higher quality products being brought to the market from Vantec; and that continues today with Vantec's new lineup of USB 3.0 hubs.

 

The device we are looking at today follows our recent review of the ten-port hub from Vantec. The USB 3.0 hub we have today offers four ports of USB 3.0 connectivity, along with three additional ports with charging capabilities. Compatibility of the four-port hub from Vantec extends to any PC or Mac with a USB port; of course, you will want to use a USB 3.0 capable port for higher performance.

 

MSRP for the Vantec four-Port USB 3.0 Hub is set at $53.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_03_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the four-port solution from Vantec carries an image of the hub on the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_04_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging lists marketing information for the hub.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_05_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery includes the hub, power adapter, and a USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_06_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Here we take our first look at the hub. As you can see, there are LED indicators for each port. The three charging ports follow the USB 3.0 ports, with each having its capabilities listed to the left.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_07_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

Here you can see the profile of the hub.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_08_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.jpg

 

The end of the hub houses the USB 3.0 port and power input.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_10_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

 

Performance of the hub was tested with a Samsung 840 Pro SSD plugged into the last port of the hub. As you can see, we were able to reach 440 MB/s read, and 435 MB/s write.

 

The Vantec Four-Port USB 3.0 Hub is an excellent solution for those with multitudes of devices that need to be connected. The build quality of the Vantec is quite good; the aluminum enclosure offers ample durability, while having a certain aesthetic appeal.

 

As you can see, performance was quite good. We were able to reach the limits of USB 3.0, with our 840 Pro touching 440 MB/s read, and 435 MB/s write.

 

MSRP of the Vantec Four-Port USB 3.0 Hub is set at $53.99, with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the VANTEC UGT-AH400U3 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The VANTEC UGT-AH400U3 retails for $45.85 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6456_1234_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6456_100_vantec_ugt_ah400u3_4_port_usb_3_0_hub_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases