TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,065 News Posts

Leef Surge Copper 16GB USB 2.0 Pico Flash Drive Review

Leef Surge Copper 16GB USB 2.0 Pico Flash Drive Review
We take a look at the pico-sized Surge Copper from Leef. Read on as Tyler gives us the complete details on this tiny, yet stylish pen drive.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Jun 20, 2014 2:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Leef

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_99_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

 

A few months back, we had the opportunity to review our first product from Leef, the Magnet 3.0. Today, we switch gears slightly, and take a look at a pico solution from Leef.

 

The sliver of a flash drive we have in-house today is called the Leef Surge Copper. Capacities range from the 16GB model that was sent to us for review, to the 32GB, and 64GB models. It's worth noting that while this drive is one of smallest flash drives on the planet, it is a USB 2.0 flash drive, so we don't expect it will be a high performance solution.

 

MSRP of the Leef Surge Copper in the 16GB flavor is listed at $14.99, with a ten-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_02_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

As you can see above, Leef put extra thought into the product packaging. We have the copper symbol and attributes from the periodic table on the left, with the drive's capacity listed at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_03_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging does give a little bit of information on the Surge.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_04_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Next up, we get our first hands-on experience with the Surge. As you can probably see, the Surge is a very small flash drive –to the point where I would need to be very careful not to lose it while transporting.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_10_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Leef Surge Copper is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 14.9GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_11_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

 

CrystalDiskMark results showed the Surge Copper coming in around 18 MB/s read, and 8 MB/s write. As I stated in the intro, I didn't expect this drive to be an extreme performance solution.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_12_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

 

Price/Performance put the Surge Copper at the bottom of our chart due to the interface being USB 2.0, and the drive not having enough performance to offset the price.

 

If your one that really enjoys having the extreme portability of pico flash drives, the Leef Surge Copper is a drive you would surely enjoy having. The build quality of the drive is top notch, and the copper exterior offers added aesthetic appeal.

 

Performance of the Surge Copper was on par with expectations, and quite good for a USB 2.0 solution. In our testing we were able to touch 18 MB/s read, and 8MB/s write.

 

The Leef Surge Copper in the 16GB capacity enjoys a great MSRP of $14.99.

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6443_1234_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6443_100_leef_surge_copper_16gb_usb_2_0_pico_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases