TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,430 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Diamond USB Xtreme Sound 7.1 Channel Digital Audio Adapter Review

Diamond USB Xtreme Sound 7.1 Channel Digital Audio Adapter Review
We look at the compact 7.1 audio solution from Diamond. Follow on as Tyler tells us about the new USB Xtreme Sound 7.1 channel adapter.
| Sound Cards in Audio, Sound & Speakers | Posted: Jun 14, 2014 6:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Diamond Multimedia

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_99_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

 

USB audio adapters have been around for quite a while, and over the years, technology has allowed these devices to deliver amazing sound for the price.

 

Diamond (while being a leading vendor of Radeon graphics solutions) carries a full portfolio of audio solutions. Whether they are PCI, PCIe, or USB, Diamond offers a solution to fit your needs. The XS71HDU we have in-house today is a compact USB solution offering True 7.1 24-bit audio. Compatibility of the unit extends to modern Windows operating systems, along with OS X, and Linux.

 

MSRP for the Diamond XS71HDU is set at $59.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_03_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the XS71HDU includes a driver disc, USB cable, and RCA cables.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_04_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.jpg

 

The Diamond XS71HDU carries an elegant, professional aesthetic. The top of the unit carries a large volume control.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_05_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.jpg

 

The side of the unit houses the headphone output, along with mic inputs, and line in.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_06_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.jpg

 

Outputs of the device include rear, center/SW, and front audio through RCA jacks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_07_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.jpg

 

Moving to the next side, we find optical input and output, and the USB connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_10_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

 

Here we have the driver installation for the XS71HDU.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_11_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

After a quick reboot, we launch the software for the XS71HDU, and as you can see, we are running at 24-bit, 192Khz.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_12_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

 

While going through the menus in the software, you can right-click on the outputs to allow selection of many enhancements.

 

The Diamond XS71HDU is one of those devices that enables another level of sound to emit from your PC. For those of you that have been using standard motherboard audio, this device can take that sound, and clean and enhance it all while giving you an external box with a volume control. It's hard to explain, but that setup I used was running an optical cable out to the box, then running my True 5.1 speaker setup from the box. Using it this way, I felt like the sound was much clearer and the bass reproduction was quite good. Build quality of the unit was exceptional, I really liked the aesthetics of the unit, and the plastics used is indeed durable.

 

Performance, as I mentioned slightly above, was quite good. I enjoyed the ability to experiment with the audio settings. Of course, I am not an audiophile like some of you may be, so the ability to enhance the treble and clean up the bass was more than welcomed.

 

Overall, I really love the XS71HDU for the compact and stylish device it is. It is certainly one product you will continue to find on my desk.

 

MSRP of the Diamond XS71HDU is set at $59.99, with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the DIAMOND USB XTREME SOUND 24-BIT 7.1 CHANNEL DIGITAL AUDIO ADAPTER for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The DIAMOND USB XTREME SOUND 24-BIT 7.1 CHANNEL DIGITAL AUDIO ADAPTER retails for $59.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The DIAMOND USB XTREME SOUND 24-BIT 7.1 CHANNEL DIGITAL AUDIO ADAPTER retails for CDN$81.64 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6425_1234_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6425_100_diamond_usb_xtreme_sound_7_1_channel_digital_audio_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Audio, Sound & Speakers content at our Audio, Sound & Speakers reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases