TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,806 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual Ultimate Liquid CPU Cooler Review - Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual CPU Cooler

Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual Ultimate Liquid CPU Cooler Review
If you thought the first Reserator was unique and different, just wait till you see what Zalman offers in the Reserator 3 Max Dual. Let's take a look.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 13, 2014 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Zalman

Zalman Reserator 3 Max Dual CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_07_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The head unit is an attractive one. Here we have a brushed outer ring followed by a black and white ring that will turn the white section blue when the cooler is powered. Inside the plate the Zalman name is surrounded by two half circles; both are done in textured metal as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_08_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Both of the swivel fittings get screwed to the head unit to keep them from coming loose, and we also see that the three-pin power lead for the pump comes from the head unit right next to them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_09_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The outer ring is held to the head unit with screws, but between them are metal threaded inserts to accept mounting hardware. The cold plate is shipped with the protective sticker on it, which tells you to remove it before you install the cooler to the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_10_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After removing the protective film, we find a much oxidized and just funky looking copper cold plate. After a bit of cleaning, and polishing it up a touch, we found slight circular milling marks, and the center of the plate is slightly higher than the edges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_11_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the head unit, we find ten and a half inches of black tubing running to the center of the dual radiator; that's right, we say center. The location of the tubing in the radiator should offset the need for longer tubing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_12_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Now we get to the dual radiator. You can easily see the tubing connecting in the middle as described, and this also is what makes the radiator a tad longer than most. Each side offers a two pass cooler that takes the coolant behind each of the clear nine-bladed fans to either side, for a total of four complete passes behind the fans for maximum cooling potential.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_13_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As we take a gander at the back of the radiator, you can now see that the middle is where both of the round coolers are tied together, and to the tubing. We also see a fan hub in the center that takes two fans leads down to a single power cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_14_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Zalman doesn't just clad the cooler in plastic and leave it at that. The sides are both designed with X patterns in them along with the name of the cooler; unfortunately this will all be upside down in a chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6423_15_zalman_reserator_3_max_dual_ultimate_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When it comes to powering the system, you will need two headers to do so. The pump uses only a three-pin to supply power, but the fans can take advantage of the PWM headers, and allow for some fluctuation based on thermals.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases