TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,999 Reviews & Articles | 38,729 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Das Keyboard 4 Professional Mechanical Keyboard Review - Das Keyboard 4 Professional Mechanical Keyboard

Das Keyboard 4 Professional Mechanical Keyboard Review

Das Keyboard is now one with the fourth generation, and has delivered the Das Keyboard 4 Professional to get our opinion on it. Let's take a close look.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Jun 12, 2014 2:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Das Keyboard

Das Keyboard 4 Professional Mechanical Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_10_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking from the left side of the keyboard, we see that the top plate is larger than the base frame, and it will make this much easier to grip and move. We can also see that while the keyboard is flat on the table, the key caps are definitely leaning away from the user.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_11_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The seventy-four key layout is given to us with a U.S. layout, and with a new font used on the keys for easier readability. Pretty standard stuff here, aside from the fact both of the Windows keys have Das Keyboard logos on them.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_12_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The caps are cylindrical in shape, and are textured to offer finger tips a bit of grip and resistance with each key press. The legends are not painted, they are laser etched, and there are home key bumps on both the "F" and the "J" keys.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_13_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Off to the right, we are given the other thirty keys for commands, and the number pad. A few of the keys on the number pad do double duty, but these keys are easy to read, and with the brightness of the legends against the black, they will be easy to find even in low light.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_14_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As a little extra bonus, we also get multimedia keys offering play or pause, and reversing or forwarding. Above those keys there is a mute button, and a large dial to easily adjust the sound. Lastly, to the left of the lock LEDs, there is an instant sleep button easily within range.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_15_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As we look at the right edge of the keyboard, with the footbar now installed, we find the keys are elevated enough at the back to have all the caps slightly leaning forward now. This makes the keyboard easier to use.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6420_16_das_keyboard_4_professional_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As we start to move around to the back of the keyboard, we run right into the dual USB 3.0 ports. Of course, this is all reverse compatible, but having USB 3.0 for a thumb drive right at the keyboard will be very handy to have.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases