TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,819 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

NZXT Sentry 3 5.4-inch Touch Screen Fan Controller Review - Packaging, Accessories and Documentation

NZXT Sentry 3 5.4-inch Touch Screen Fan Controller Review
Touchscreen fan controllers are an attractive solution to controlling masses of fans. It's time to see how well NZXT's Sentry 3 does with 15W per channel.
| Cables & Accessories in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 6, 2014 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 78%Manufacturer: NZXT

Packaging, Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_02_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The front of the packaging uses a white background to let the Sentry 3 stand out in black. We see an illuminated Sentry 3 to the left, with its naming to the right under the notifications for five channels at 15W per channel, and that this is, of course, a touchscreen controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_03_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

One of the end panels offers a very basic specifications list for this controller. Here we see where the controller goes, its color, the materials it consists of, and its control method. We also see that they do state the power per channel, number of channels, fan connection type, the power input required, the connection used to power it, and that it comes with a two-year warranty against defects, or poor workmanship leading to failure.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_04_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

If the white panel we saw first was the front, then this is the top panel. Here we are shown the large size of the capacitive touchscreen; to the left side of the image showing this, we see four other features listed on this panel as well, even if they are repeated.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_05_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The back panel offers two images. There is one image of the front panel of the Sentry 3, and another of the white PCB used to control what it does. To the right is a description of why NZXT thinks this is the perfect fan controller for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_06_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Inside of the box we find the Sentry 3 wrapped in an anti-static bag, and it's then kept in place with the dense foam inserts at either end. The paperwork and accessories are located under the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_07_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

There are some accessories to go along with the Sentry 3. They offer the mounting screws to put the controller into a chassis, they offer a pair of thermal probes in case you damage the one on the controller, and there are also three stickers to attach the probes to whatever you want the reading from.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6406_08_nzxt_sentry_3_5_4_inch_touch_screen_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

We also received a manual and warranty information. While the warranty information is very basic, and never mentions fan controllers, we know from the packaging that we get two covered years with the Sentry 3. As for the manual, it is well written and very descriptive to aid the user in working all the functions as intended.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases